Say Cheese!

August 28, 2010 at 8:18 pm 1 comment

When I was in Costa Rica working at Finca La Flor de Paraiso in July, I was able to enjoy fresh goat’s milk and fresh goat cheese for the very first time in my life. Up until then, I had never seen a goat be milked in person and I also didn’t know what goat’s milk tasted like straight out of the udder.

The goat’s milk at the finca wasn’t my favorite since it was still warm when I drank it. The cheese wasn’t like the goat cheese I knew from state side either. In fact, after building up such excitement to try the legit, raw, real deal I was kind of disappointed and a little pushed away. The flavor of the milk and cheese was extremely goaty. I mean, REALLY goaty. Even so, I was so intrigued about the process I made sure I woke up at 6am every morning to watch Henry, one of the farm workers, ordeñar las cabras (milk the goats) and carry the milk over to the kitchen.

My interest in the process of cheese making followed me all the way home after returning from my two-week stay at the farm, and despite my Costa Rican goat’s milk encounter I still have a romantic interest in all things goat dairy. For some reason I like goat’s milk and goat’s milk cheese here in the US a lot better! Maybe it’s just my taste buds playing a trick on me?

Aside from working at a farmers market once a week I also work at a natural grocery. Every two weeks we host a garden swap for non-certified farms (a.k.a. backyard gardens) to trade their excess goods with other growers.. or in my case bakers.

Despite working my three-hour shift this past Saturday, my generous bosses allowed me to partake in the swap! I toted along these little beauties…

Orange zest sugar cookies. Recipe? None. I pretty much winged it and wanted to get rid of different flours in our pantry. I do know that they were 50% gluten-free, 100% organic and vegan. I was sure they’d be a crowd pleaser!

Aside from a bowl of enormous brown turkey figs, a tomato, peaches, smoked chili peppers, a canary melon, and a muffin..one of my favorite swaps I received was definitely the quart of fresh raw goat’s milk.

I instantly foresaw the fate that would meet this quart’s worth of liquid gold. Operation goat cheese!

Using this recipe I took to the stove top with thermometer in hand. I learned that patience is key when cheese making!

The result? After bringing the milk to 200*F, removing from heat, adding the juice of 1 lemon, allowing to curdle, straining through cheese cloth and letting rest for 1 hour… I unwrapped my little gift:

How gorgeous is that? It’s okay to be a little jealous but I always say that jealousy is silly when you can easily do it yourself!

I’m thinking I’ll use this little loaf of cheese with figs and honey in the near future… The possibilities are endless. To be honest I’m leaning towards a goat cheese tart.

If it turns out well, maybe (just maybe!) you will be lucky and get to see a photo of the final product!

Entry filed under: All.

Turning the Soil (and a new recipe!) My Birthday Wish

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Irene  |  August 31, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    That looks wonderful. I’ll second the goat cheese tart!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

