I’m Still Alive!

August 20, 2010 at 6:34 am Leave a comment

So I have obviously taken a large leave of absence from this thing. It was a very much-needed leave of absence because I think I have grown a lot from when I started this blog earlier this year. You may be wondering where I have spent my time? What I have done? What I have been eating, perhaps? We’ll get to that in time. Read on if you will…

So throughout the past months I’ve devoted a good chunk of my time working at the San Diego Roots farm, as well as different aspects of the organization. I’m no Farmer Jane yet but I hope to be someday! We’ve continued to clear the fields at the farm. We had a seed planting but the local critters found the sprouts and whaled on it like a group of school children would at an ice cream parlour. Fear not though, I’m most certain that in time the farm will be well underway and will really make a positive impact on our local food system here in Southern California!

Aside from volunteering at the farm, I was fortunate to take a two-week trip to Costa Rica to..you might have guessed by now.. work on an organic farm! I divided up the majority of my stay at Finca La Flor de Paraiso, a small farm up in the mountains tucked away from the busy streets of San José in a town called La Flor. When I say small, I mean SMALL. When most people think of Costa Rica, they envision luscious beaches, tropical fruits, and emerald-green jungles. You’d be surprised to hear that I was freezing my buns off for most of my visit! The farm received copious amounts of precipitation which helped provide for soil so rich and moist it could almost pass as black forest cake. Yes!

I could go on forever about what I learned at the farm but I’ll save that for future posts! Aside from working on the farm another memorable part of my trip was going to Puerto Viejo, on the Caribbean side of the country, for four days. I traveled with two guys I met at the farm – one from Texas and the other from LA. I couldn’t have asked for better travel buddies. And the vibe on that side of the country? Totally Rasta man!

You bet I found a local farmers market to buy organic fuel for my body!

To wrap up my entire trip in one bundle, it was a trip of a lifetime. I know how cliché of me to say that.. but it was my first time outside of the country, venturing out solo! I made amazing connections and gained a great deal of confidence along with respect for others. I am forever humbled and have been changed by my stay in Costa Rica.

So where does that leave my blogging escapades and myself? I plan to revamp this virtual self-extension! I view change as a very good thing. 🙂

~alex

Entry filed under: All.

Farm Days Turning the Soil (and a new recipe!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

