Farm Days

June 13, 2010 at 5:41 am 2 comments

I did so much yesterday I didn’t have any time to sit around and blog during the day, so here is a recap of how my Saturday went:

For breakfast I ate two slices of the banana bread I made the day before, with a drizzle of honey and some blueberries. I also ate some cherries.

After breakfast, I headed out to the door and at 7:30AM I met Karon for a morning run.

I definitely was experiencing déjà vu!!! We ran around the area where I ran my last 6 miles of the marathon from last Sunday!

We had an awesome run. The morning was brisk but not too cold, there was a very slight breeze but we didn’t really feel it while running. Karon is such a trooper. She owned the run even though she while  fighting a cold. We finished just over 8 miles with an 8:49 pace. It feels great to be able to run that distance only a week after such a long race!

After our run we headed back to Karon’s house to hang out a bit, and then we went out to Adam’s Avenue Grill with her husband John. I ordered the tofu and egg white stack and ate  about 90% of it.

At 2pm we headed over to Suzie’s Farm, where a lot of volunteers for San Diego Roots gathered yesterday to get some work done out on the farm! San Diego Roots is in the process of getting the land ready to begin an educational farm. There is clearly a lot of work to be done, as we clear this from the fields..

..to yield this.

The crops to be planted in the rows of black plastic you see, will include the three sisters: corn, beans, and squash. I got a lot of scartches all over me from picking up dried weeds and rolling piles of hacked dried brush. We had a lot of volunteers come out, and got a lot of work accomplished!

I ate some snacks that didn’t make it to the camera during all the work. Those snacks include 1 mini Luna bar, some chips with some hummus, a few pinches of cilantro, and how could I not mention the these little beauties??

There are several blackberry  bushes nearby as well as two peach trees that are just loaded with the sweetest little gems your palette could ever imagine! I began calling one of the peach tress ‘The Tree of Enchantment’ because it just pulled you in to eat the fruit whether you wanted to or not. I definitely filled my quota yesterday of peaches and blackberries. Yum!

After working for a good three hours on the farm, we called it a day and brought it in for a nice potluck. Unfortunately I was a dud and didn’t bring anything! I left home early for the run with Karon and completely forgot. So consider this a moocher’s dinner plate:

It was loaded with everything from potato salad made with homemade yogurt, quinoa salad, watermelon-mint-feta salad, some hummus, chips, grapes, and two little slices of greyeure cheese. Delish!

After getting home I had to urge to make something so I made my parents a baked fruit dessert. Didn’t take a picture of it but I promise you it tasted very good!

Definitely a food overload type of day 😦 .. but I guess some days are just like that and you have to enjoy every bite, yes? 🙂

Hope you are enjoying the last day of your weekend!

Entry filed under: All.

The Gun Show I’m Still Alive!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tammy McLeod  |  July 19, 2010 at 3:56 am

    Working at the farm in exchange for the meal actually sounds like a fun day.

    Reply
  • 2. Jess  |  July 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Where have you been? Hopefully not too busy picking all the berries from the farm! The peaches look delicious.

    And sheesh, 8 miles at 8something pace. That’s incredible. I’d be happy with ONE mile at 8something pace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

