The Gun Show

June 11, 2010 at 8:42 pm 9 comments

The banana bread turned out sooo yummy! It made the house smell absolutely wonderful.

Moistness- 10/10

Chewy edges and crust- 10/10

I don’t know how it happened but my mouth stole a slice of the bread while it was still warm! Just might have to steal another slice for breakfast tomorrow 🙂

I got a good workout at the gym today, total of about 1:20 minutes. I’ve had a hard time staying at the gym long enough for a workout that makes me feel like I actually did something. Earlier this week I didn’t give myself enough time for a hard workout, but I think today I made up for it!

  • Spin bike- 35 minutes with seated hill intervals, jumps, and sprints.
  • Treadmill-10 minutes running
  • Push-ups 10 X 3
  • Tricep dips 10 X 3
  • Pull ups 10 X 3 (On the machine that I only lift a percentage of my weight)
  • Shoulder press 10 X 3
  • Bicep curl 10 X 3
  • [a few random reps that I didn’t really count]
  • Bicycle crunches- 10 minutes (not all at once)

I feel like Ron Burgundy now!

Haha okay, not really. Funny thing is that there are guys at my gym that actually make loud grunts while weight lifting. I think it’s so silly! They aren’t impressing meeeee!

For dinner, I adapted the Otsu recipe from Heidi Swanson’s cookbook, Supernatural Cooking. Love that book! She has an amazing food blog called 101 cookbooks. Definitely a must see if you haven’t already. I love that she is from San Francisco, because that’s where I gained my culinary inspiration as well, while living there 🙂

I think the only thing I kept the same from her recipe was the soba noodles, green onions, cilantro, and ginger dressing. Instead of tofu I used tempeh, instead of cucumbers I used zucchini, and I also added red bell pepper.

So fresh and SO spicy! I went a little overboard with cayenne pepper because here at my house, we like to eat very spicy foods!

Well, it’s tea time once again! I need to rest up because I have a long day ahead of me tomorrow. Peppermint, the standard!

What is your favorite kind of tea?

Have a good night!

Entry filed under: All.

Shoo Fly, Don’t Bother Me! Farm Days

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole @ Making Good Choices  |  June 12, 2010 at 3:11 am

    My favorite tea right now is just English Breakfast because it is so plain…normally my very fav is Joy from Starbucks over the holiday season!

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  June 12, 2010 at 5:24 am

      That one is so good! I like the Holiday varieties that Celestial Seasonings brings out. Like Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. EmbraceYourSkin  |  June 12, 2010 at 5:46 am

    I don’t know if you heard me counting, I did over 1000!

    Reply
  • 4. stacy  |  June 12, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    I’m a mint tea girl, too. I love Tazo’s variety that has a tough of tarragon in it. Yum. Also, Aveda sells peppermint tea with licorice — I hate licorice, but that tea is amaaaaaazing. Stop into their store next tiem you’re at the mall and they’ll give you a sample.

    Reply
  • 5. Matthew  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    That bread/cake looks so tasty and the Otsu is making my mouth water…your pictures are really nice!

    Reply
  • 6. Matthew  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    ps…I like this green tea I found in Laos….organic/fair trade

    Reply
    • 7. Alexandra  |  August 20, 2010 at 6:05 am

      Nice!! Sounds yummy

      Reply
  • 8. actorsdiet  |  August 21, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    i could really use some banana bread in the house!

    i go thru tea phases; right now i’m loving celestial seasoning’s blueberry, but i always tend to like ginger.

    Reply
    • 9. Alexandra  |  August 30, 2010 at 6:01 am

      Ginger is always a good choice!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

