Shoo Fly, Don’t Bother Me!

June 11, 2010 at 2:29 pm 2 comments

I’ve been working on my computer all day! The InDesign project I’m working on is almost done…I hope.

For lunch I had a very big loaded salad.

It had: Spinach, onion sprouts, spring mix, green onion, red bell pepper, cucumber, shredded carrot, bulgur, Scarlet Runner beans, cranberries, walnuts, and a tahini-honey dijon dressing.

Crunch!

I also enjoyed a nectarine.

So after hitting the computer so long, I had to do something else. After flipping through one of my favorite cookbooks, The Balanced Plate

I decided to bake banana bread. That’s what you do when life gives you ripe bananas!

The batter was really rich. The recipe called for a lot of maple syrup and agave and I don’t have either, so I used honey instead. To cut down on the sweetness since the bananas were pretty ripe, I used only 1/4 cup of honey. I also added an extra heaping teaspoon of cinnamon than what the recipe called for.

~Creamy~

Into the oven you go, my little 9″ loaf of love!

OK- I’m going to admit something kind of embarrassing and gnarly with you all on here. For the past three days my parents and I have battled a plague of fruit flies! They came out of nowhere. Out of desperation this morning, and in a fit of insanity I finally looked up how to end their existence in our household. Thank youuuu wikihow.com!

I followed the steps to two of the homemade fruit fly traps. For the first one, I mixed apple cider vinegar with soap in a jar, and let it sit in a highly infested area…


Here it is after sitting for an hour. I think I counted about 13 flies!

The second trap I set out this afternoon was the ‘fruit peel in a bowl’ trap, using plastic wrap to lock ’em in. This only had about 4 flies after an hour.

My final verdict on the most effective method so far is the apple cider and soap in a jar. I’m thinking I’ll need to set out more jars to get rid of all the little suckers! 😈

I’m probably going to head out to the gym for a much-anticipated workout, once the bread is done baking. I need to stretch these legs that have sat all day! Yarg 😕

Have you ever had to deal with a bug infestation in your house? Did you turn to alternative, natural remedies?

Entry filed under: All.

Music & Lyrics The Gun Show

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicole  |  June 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    all you’re eats look good, and the batter to the banana bread looks so yummy. thats so cool how you got rid of the fruit flys a few days ago there were like a million ants on are kitchen counter my mom god rid of them haha.

    Reply
  • 2. Alexandra  |  June 11, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

