Easy Peasy

June 10, 2010 at 7:25 pm 4 comments

I got a little hungry before dinner time so I munched on some un-photographed sugar snap peas I pinched from the garden, and also a mini JŎCALAT bar. One of the few samples I snagged from the race expo last Saturday. 🙂

Chocolate, Fair Trade, AND Organic? Yes please!

Once dinnertime came around, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to make. Whenever I prepare dinner, I usually just take a gander at the fridge and take out random veggies and through them all together. I like getting creative and using veggies in a different way each time. Sometimes it’s also good to have a basic go-to dinner for nights where I’m not feeling so inspired. (It happens to all of us!)

Well here is my tip for the evening, a simple go-to grain bowl!

There are four easy components to building your grain bowl dinner. I say bowl because it’s easiest to serve it in one, but it’s certainly not exclusive to bowls.

  1. Grain of choice: This can be any grain really. Try steering away from white rice if that is what your used to, and experiment with more wholesome grains like quinoa, wild rice, millet, or cous cous. Tonight for dinner I used bulgur.
  2. Greens: I like kale, but any dark leafy green works perfect. Also try collard, broccoli greens, or chard. This could also be a veggie like broccoli or cauliflower too. I cooked some kale with onion and a little olive oil and placed it over the bulgur.
  3. Protein: I’m a vegetarian so I use legumes, tofu, or tempeh. If you are an omnivore and choose to use meats or fish for this part of the grain bowl, please buy local sustainable seafood or local grass-fed organic beef. Tonight’s protein was Scarlet Runner beans.
  4. Dressing: This could be your favorite sauce, shredded cheese, avocado, or pesto. I made a fresh pesto so that was my dressing of choice tonight.

And there you have it! Easy dinner in 4 quick steps!

I’m going to drink my nightly tea and try to watch Valentine’s Day without falling asleep!

Have a good night!

Entry filed under: All.

Blooming Music & Lyrics

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tammy McLeod  |  June 10, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    What a great concept! I love the grain bowl dinner. Bookmarking for future meals. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 3. Erica  |  June 10, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    You had me at “sugar snap peas pinched from the garden” 🙂

    Love these types of meals. My favorite go to grain in a bowl meal is brown rice, broccoli, tofu & ginger dressing. Slightly weird combo but love it!

    Reply
    • 4. Alexandra  |  June 11, 2010 at 9:02 pm

      Growing food in the garden is fun 🙂

      I don’t think that’s a weird combo at all, that sounds delicious! I had a ginger dressing with dinner tonight

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

