Blueberries

June 10, 2010 at 7:34 am 1 comment

So today I will make my first effort in my official first run since Sunday’s marathon. Kinda nervous, kinda excited!

Here is how I’ve eased my way back to exercise:

  • Monday- rest day, big stretch
  • Tuesday- Elliptical 45 minutes (alternating between fast/slow intervals and incline), crunches 10 minutes, big stretch
  • Wednesday- Elliptical 10 minutes at high resistance, Spin for 35 minutes alternating with hills, crunches for 5 minutes, normal stretch. I wanted to work out longer yesterday but for some reason I was feeling a little shaky after the bike. So strange! I listened to my body and called it off early.

To me physical fitness and health have every bit to do with really listening to your body. On my rest days, I will admit to feeling lazy because I’m not doing any extreme activity that makes me sweat a lot. It’s best to look in the broader sense of what I have accomplished during the entire week and not just one day. There has to be a continuous balance to achieve sustainability in your body. I want to keep running, cycling, hiking, and all the other things I love to do!

For breakfast this morning I had a nice ‘parfait’. I put that in little quotes because we don’t have any granola to make it legit.

It had: 1 small banana slice on bottom, about a cup of plain Greek yogurt, topped with blueberries, sprinkle of walnuts and cinnamon and a drizzle of raw honey. I also enjoyed a cup of java.

The first bite of my parfait totally brought back so many memories of last summer! It was definitely the taste of blueberries that was the trigger. Funny how we associate flavors to memories, isn’t it?

What flavors bring back memories for you? Hopefully they are all good flavors with all good memories 🙂

Entry filed under: All.

Race Weekend -Part 2- The Marathon Blooming

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. zenlizzie  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Strawberries, watermelon and figs all remind me of my childhood 🙂 Winter squash and sweet potatoes remind me of last fall volunteering since we ate it every day after the harvest.

    I struggle with off days while they are happening, but on the days after, I really appreciate feeling refreshed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

