Race Weekend -Part Uno- The Expo

June 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm 7 comments

This was my very first marathon expo! I was super anxious to get there. Luckily we got there super early because the crowds were pretty intense even though we arrived at opening, 9AM.

The process couldn’t have been easier. Honestly, my hats off to all of the volunteers and coordinators for the expo. Their hard work really showed! My friend Nicky (I’ve mentioned her on here before!) was one of the volunteers for the weekend! šŸ™‚

We checked in, got our swag bag and race bibs.

I had to change corrals because when I initially registered for the race I thought I would finish in 6 hours! I was sooo off! It was so easy switching corrals though, it took only one minute, if that. I wound up in Corral #17 instead of #32.

I wish I knew of a way to pose less awkwardly! haha šŸ˜€

(In case you’re wondering, the orange thing on our race bibs is called a D-tag. It’s our chip timer that we removed from the bib to loop in between our shoe laces so that the race officials could log our splits and finishing time.)

Next, we cruised around the expo. It was so packed! There was a lot to sample, see, and do.

I’m not really a fan of having advertisements shoved down my throat, especially if it’s something I don’t particularly believe in. So in short, the expo made me want to make a B-line for the exit! There were just way too many people telling me to sample their sports bar or energy drink. If it’s not natural I really don’t care for it! I did sample something from the CLIF booth though šŸ™‚ Before heading out, my parents and I posed for some fun photos..

The San Diego Rock ‘N Roll is pretty famous for it’s running Elvi!

After the expo we headed to Whole Foods (AWAY from the downtown madness!) and I grabbed what I like to call a FREAKING BAD ASS SALAD.

It had: bean sprouts, fresh parsley, feta, chick peas, artichoke hearts, carrots, beets, hummus, wheat berries, spring mix, kale, swiss chard, and some sunflower seeds sprinkled on top. So good and fresh!I think it definitely could have served two people.. but I needed to have a nice healthy full tank for race day!

My parents and I had some time to kill before checking in to our hotel, and we also wanted to stay off of our feet as much as possible. Basically we were waiting for dinner time and then hitting the sack. So, to fill up the time between lunch and dinner, the first thing my mom and I wanted to do was to go and get manicures!

We couldn’t convince my dad to join in on the fun, so he napped in the car for the mean time.

After the manicures, we headed to a nearby theater and saw Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. I’ve wanted to see the movie ever since I saw the previews. I usually get bored at the movies, so for me to say I enjoyed the film means it must have been somewhere close to good! It was really action packed, kind of long, but I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys epic tales in far off lands.

Finally it was dinner time! We went to a new Thai restaurant we haven’t visited before, Taste of Thai. The food was AMAZING!!!!!

We each ordered a dish and then split the servings three ways. In honor of the official night to carb-load we ordered pad thai with veggies and tofu, curried rice with veggies, and spicy noodles. So. Ridiculously. Delicious. I will definitely be visiting that restaurant in the future!

So finally the time came around to head over to the hotel. After check in the concierge gave us each a chocolate chip cookie.. that was still warm! I was stuffed from dinner but the aroma was so enticing I couldn’t resist. One pinch lead to another and that cookie was history! It was so good šŸ™‚

I called it a night shortly after at around 8:30PM.

Marathon Weekend Recap Part 2-Race Day will be posted tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Oh The Places You’ll Go! Race Weekend -Part 2- The Marathon

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EmbraceYourSkin  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Taste of Thai is faaaabulous!
    Alex, I am so glad that you decided to run today! Even if we didn’t get to run together, you are incredible and I am super proud of you!

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      I decided to run 6 months ago šŸ˜‰

      Good job today yourself, Camille!

      Reply
  • 3. hundredtenpounds  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Pad Thai! Perfect pre-race dinner!

    I hate the advertising too but if it’s something I like (Nike or Brooks) I’m not as annoyed.

    Reply
    • 4. Alexandra  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      I don’t mind those. haha I just find it a little annoying that everyone claims to have the BEST powerbar for you. It’s all silly after a while haha šŸ™‚

      I agree, a pre-race dinner I’ll definitely turn to in the future!

      Reply
  • 5. SDrunner  |  June 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    That was my first marathon race expo too, it was definitely well organized and big! I need to check out that Thai place, it sounds (and looks) delicious. You must have been staying at the Double Tree. When co-workers visit our office, they always stay there, so the hotel occasionally sends us a tray of those cookies. And yes, I have more than one!

    Hope everything went well with the race, it was pretty tough for me!

    Reply
    • 6. Alexandra  |  June 7, 2010 at 4:27 am

      Haha you caught me! We were at the Double Tree !

      Reply
  • 7. Anne  |  June 7, 2010 at 5:57 am

    I’m with you on the commercial side of huge marathon expos. I worked the San Diego Track Club pace booth and was amazed at how many people were in there. Made me claustrophobic!

    I love the name of your blog. I’ve written about persimmons on mine several times now. It’s my favorite fall fruit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

