Oh The Places You’ll Go!

June 6, 2010 at 9:00 am 2 comments

I’ve pre-planned this post for y’all!

This journey has been incredible to say the least.

Some of you may be wondering why the heck I decided to run in such a race. When telling friends about the distance of a marathon it never fails that I receive the same repeat surprised reaction followed by something that sounds like “Whoa! You’re crazy!” The good thing is, I’m not that crazy, there are hundreds of marathons every year with thousands of ‘crazy’ participants..hee hee 😉

Well I think it’s about time I truly tell the story of how I wound up registering for this event!

For me, I think it really all started at the beginning of the year. I had been a consistent runner, capping my distance at an average of five miles per day about 5-6 days a week. With the spirit of the new year, new beginnings, and setting goals I was really trying to find something to challenge myself with. I wanted to push myself in a way I had never pushed myself before.

I began running outdoors a lot more and found that I enjoyed it better than being on the treadmill. I could run further too! Before I knew it I was running almost 8 miles a day without any strain.

One day, my friend who was working at the gym at the time told me that I should try running a marathon. My reply? “YEAH RIGHT!!” I assured him that marathon runners are crazy for running 26.2 miles and that I could never ever run that distance! Well those words came back to haunt me… The rest of the week I kept hearing myself saying ‘never’ and I before I knew it, my stubborn stance turned into questioning myself “Why not?“.

By the end of the week I really started taking the idea of running a marathon into consideration. I think what helped seal the deal for me was hearing that my friend Camille (she is currently running too!) was planning on running in a marathon as well. The wheels in my head started turning..

On a Sunday morning, almost one week after I said I couldn’t.. I convinced myself that I could run a marathon! I registered the same day and started my training!

What I’ve learned over the past six months…

I couldn’t be more pleased, inspired, exhausted, and humbled by what I have learned and experienced through the course of my training for this race. It has really taught me that with great determination, anything is possible. Also, it has also reminded me (constantly) to RESPECT my body for all I put it through. I still can’t believe how amazing the human body is. I look back at all the miles I’ve been able to travel thanks to good health and all I can say is that I’m so grateful! 🙂 Balance has definitely been key, too.

With that said here is a list I’ve compiled: What will be pushing me through the race on Sunday:

  1. Anyone who has ever said “I can’t”. You have to be your own push in your life. No one can force you in to anything. If there is something you want to achieve ‘reach out and grab it‘ because no one else can do it for you.
  2. Anyone who has ever looked in the mirror, and has felt that they are less than perfect. There is no such thing as an ideal perfect. You are amazing just the way you are! If there is any reason that makes you feel less than that, then do something that makes you feel good inside. I used to weigh myself and allow the number on the scale control my life.. well I’m glad that I no longer weigh myself! The number means nothing, unless there is some dire need for me to know my weight I’ve vowed to never weigh myself. ‘The number doesn’t define you, find something that does’.
  3. The person who dwells in the past. I am sometimes at fault for this and I think that it’s perfectly acceptable because that is human nature. Even so, I’ve learned to let things so and to carry forward. Past decisions that you cling on to are only heavy weights that keep you from leaping bounds in the present. Sometimes it’s easy to move on, sometimes it’s hard, but no matter what you have to live for the moment and embrace what is before you.
  4. The local farms and farmers who feed our world. You all know how passionate I am about sustainable food systems! I will most definitely be thinking about all the local farms I’ve been fed from, and their work and time they have invested in cultivating the earth to produce real, honest, pure, organic food. They are the backbone to our food’s future and without them how the heck would I be in the health I am in to run 26.2 miles??? They are true heroes.

Always believe in yourself and you’ll be surprised with the places you’ll go! 🙂

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Tomorrow! Race Weekend -Part Uno- The Expo

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carla  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Congrats, Alex. Truly an inspiration!!

    Love,
    us

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  June 6, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      Thank you Carla 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

