Proud Daughter

June 4, 2010 at 9:21 am 1 comment

It is definitely down to the wire! TWO DAYS left until the big race! I won’t be posting tomorrow since my parents and I will be leaving in the morning to the marathon expo, but expect a double marathon re-cap will all the details included about this coming weekend!

For breakfast I had about a cup of greek yogurt with diced strawberries, a few walnuts, sprouted buckwheat groats (sprouted here at home!), cinnamon, and a squizzle of agave. Side of java juice.

Yummy!

I had breakfast pretty early, it’s not even lunchtime yet and my stomach is telling me to feed it! So as I’m typing this, I’m munching on about a 1/2 cup almond goji mix. Dear stomach…shush!

~~~~~~~~~~

I’d like to take time to give you all some insight into something I haven’t really had time to share on this blog since training for the race.

I have the most supportive parents I could ever dream of! Through every path I’ve chosen to follow in my life thus far, I never once felt as though my parents weren’t behind me all the way. They have had great influence in the heart and spirit of any success that has ever come my way and I’m so incredibly grateful to have such amazing individuals in my life. When I chose to sign up for the race, my parents encouraged me to take it on and told me that they would be there for me on race day.

My parents were never runners. My mom was slowly beginning to build up a tolerance for running on the treadmill and my dad who had a history of knee problems back in the day stayed away from running all together. Their workouts were at the gym with weights and short bike rides. Don’t get me wrong, they have always kept great shape, but never really got involved with running in races at all.

My parents, about a year ago..

Well shortly after signing up for the marathon, I encouraged my mom to run more in hopes that she could sign up for a 10K or something so that we could go on some runs together. That pretty much snowballed into my dad wanting to start running, which snowballed into my parents wanting to sign up for the Rock ‘N Roll Half Marathon!!

So… somehow through signing up for the full marathon I managed to influence my parents (once self-proclaimed non-runners) into running their first ever half marathon! Pretty cool, huh? 🙂

Seeing my parents make this complete 180 in their life has been very inspirational for me. A year ago, they never ran at all! They have stuck with their training plan and on Sunday they will be running 13.1 miles! I’m such a proud daughter!

My parents – now!

Sunday is going to be amazing!

I’ll catch you all later today 🙂

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Team Running! Meet Meb

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. EmbraceYourSkin  |  June 4, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    We’re almost there, I can’t wait!
    I haven’t seen your Mom in a couple years, but I remember meeting her back in SF and she was just the sweetest woman in the world 🙂
    Hope I get to say hi on Sunday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

