Meet Meb

June 4, 2010 at 9:14 pm Leave a comment

Around mid morning I headed out for a 3 mile run. It was at a very relaxed pace, I didn’t even take my Nike+ with me so I’m just assuming with was 3-miles. It was so warm out! I guzzled water as soon as I got back to my car. I was hoping to run one mile tomorrow, but I don’t think I’ll have time. Ohhh welllllll!

For lunch, I enjoyed some crackers and a nice salad with an avocado vinaigrette I whipped up. Our avocados are super ripe here at my house so I had to use one in something!

The salad was a mix of mizuna (from JR Organics), onion sprouts (Suzie’s), sugar snap peas (my garden!! :grin:), fava beans, sprouted black-eyed peas, dill (JR) and red leaf romaine (JR).

With chippity chip chopsticks! Yeahhhh!

The rest of the afternoon, I worked as hard as I could to channel my energy towards house duties (have I mention how much laundry I’ve been avoiding lately?) but it was so hard not to think about the marathon!

As I mentioned a few days ago, my friend Karon is part of the San Diego Track Club. She was so kind as to invite my parents and myself to the pasta dinner they were putting on for all of the Rock ‘N Roll Marathon participants who participated in the Track Club training program for the race. My parents and I are so sneaky!

The dinner was served buffet style and there were quite a bit of bellies to be filled! I will be honest with y’all on here.. I wasn’t super-duper crazy about the options.. eeek!

So I picked at the vegetarian lasagna, ate a few veggies, and at a 1/2 breadstick (plus one half not pictured). I think that was ziti on the bottom part of my plate. All in all I think I ate about 1/3 of what I served myself. It’s not that I wasn’t hungry but it was just way too overloaded with cheese for me. I’m not even a big cheese person to begin with. I think the only cheese I could really ever swoon over is goat feta. I gave this dinner a fighting chance though!

The rest of the program was really wonderful!

The keynote speaker for the evening was Meb Keflezighi!

If you don’t know who he is, he is the 2009 NYC Marathon Champion, as well as the 2004 Olympic Silver Medalist for the Marathon.. among other very well respectable titles. He is also a San Diego local. Remember Steve from last Saturday’s post? Well Steve was his high school coach! So cool!

He gave such an empowering story of where he came from and what motivates him to run. As I listened to Meb talking I couldn’t help but look around the room at all the runners sitting with me and think how each of us have a drive within us that is going to empower us through the race on Sunday. The great energy in the room was so alive that it gave me chills.

Karon and I got a snapshot with Meb as he left after giving his awesome speech:

I’m so grateful that Karon invited my parents and I to the dinner! We had a great time together with her parents who flew in from Texas, and her husband John.

On our way home, my parents and I topped off our evening with some good ole frozen yogurt! My favorite!

I do the same ritual at each fro-yo establishment..

  1. Fruit on bottom. This time it was diced mango and diced strawberry
  2. Two cubes of cheesecake bites.
  3. Two-Three squirts of yogurt. This cup had vanilla, choco-peanut butter swirl, and strawberry.. I guess that kind of makes it four squirts instead of three!
  4. Some sprinkling of granola. Can you just admire the organic hemp granola hugging the slopes of the yogurt peaks for a second? Gorgeous!

So I think it’s pretty clear that it’s too late for me to be awake. I’m getting up early to finish packing and head over to the race expo and hotel!

GOOD NIGHT!

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Proud Daughter Tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

