Team Running!

May 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm 2 comments

This morning I went running with my friend Karon and her running group, the San Diego Track Club.

Before heading out the door at 6AM, I had a piece of toast with some almond butter, and a banana.

We ran around the UCSD campus, for a 1:30 timed run. Unfortunately..my iPod battery went ka-putz so I don’t really know my pace or distance. Boo! 😦 I’m so used to running with music, I had to entertain myself by thinking of songs I’d listen to in my head. It kind of worked.. not really though! I consumed a CLIF shot while running.

Despite the unfortunate circumstances, it was an awesome run! I loved running with a group (about 100 runners I’d say) and the feeling of running with everyone was amazing. It really helped make up for no music.

Another thing I liked about running with the group was the amount of support. Normally I run by myself so it takes a lot of mental energy for me to help get myself through a difficult hill, or hard mile mid-run. Today while I was running, whether it was me or a runner passing each other we’d encourage each other by saying “Good job!”. It doesn’t really seem like much but just hearing little words of encouragement like that goes a long way. Maybe I’ll join a running club in the future? 🙂

After the run Karon and I met up with her running mentor, Steve, at a nearby cafe Come On In.

Karon bought a muffin for us to all shared, which I picked at.

I also ordered a bowl of fruit with some yogurt and granola. Nom nom!

Steve brought some berries from his garden so we all munched on some of them. They were really good!

After coming home, I worked in the garden for a little and then made myself a green smoothie, which I enjoyed in a bowl. SIAB!


Not sure what the rest of the day has in store but it sure is gorgeous out!

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Clay and Sprouts Proud Daughter

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. steve  |  June 2, 2010 at 11:17 am

    how fun to meet you. good luck on the marathon.

    Reply
  • 2. Meet Meb « Eat Persimmons!  |  June 4, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    […] among other very well respectable titles. He is also a San Diego local. Remember Steve from last Saturday’s post? Well Steve was his high school coach! So […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

