Clay and Sprouts

May 28, 2010 at 3:05 pm 1 comment

It’s officially summer vacation – wahoo!

Summer means sunshine and free time which equates to me getting to spend more time in the garden. Could I be any happier? ๐Ÿ™‚

We have a strip of roses by a white picket fence near the front of my house. Even though we’ve got an alternation between rose and sage, the spaces between just seem so bare. First I wanted to plant sunflowers, until it also occurred to me.. why not plant some of my seed starts? I figured I’d be killing two flies with one slap because I could also try making a chicken wire cage to see if it really does work in keeping the gophers out while also putting my starts in a better home than their tiny containers.

Well, when I made my first attempt at this project it was an instant reality check. Sure, the top layer of the soil was nice and loose for easy digging, but about 4 inches down I hit solid clay. If you don’t know what I’m talking about.. this clay was almost like hitting pure rock!

As much as I rammed my shovel into the ground it wasn’t budging. So I soaked half of the rose bed with water in hopes that it would get nice and soaked so I could actually do some real digging.

This morning after breakfast I headed outside early to see if my plan worked. It did! I got to work right away so that I wouldn’t get caught in the mid-day sun and loose all the moisture left in the ground from the evening.

I started by digging up a 1′ X 2′ X 1.5′ hole in between one rose plant and sage bush.

Next I pushed a piece of chicken wire down as best I could.

I filled the hole with alternating layers of organic potting soil, horse manure (from my neighbor next door, she has so many horses!), and mixed dirt from the garden. I alternated about twice.

After the new soil was in place, I planted some of the beets that I started from seed. Remember when I planted them a few months ago? I thought they would be bigger by now, but they definitely will have plenty of room to grow in their new home!

I followed the same steps and dug two more holes. I planted one more with beets and the other with some radishes, both of which I started from seed.

It didn’t take as long as I thought it would! I listened to Jack Johnson and Ben Harper while digging, and hung out with Max and Chow Mein (my cat).

I definitely have my work cut out for me though. I had to dig up a ton of clay. Look at the second half of the bed.. sooo many weeds!

For lunch, I ate a de-e-licious salad.

It had pretty much everything except the kitchen sink. It consisted of: spinach and spring mix from JR Organics, buckwheat groats and red lentils that I sprouted, a variety of sprouts from Suzie’s, chia seeds, red walnuts from Terra Bella Ranch, diced apple from R&L Farms, dried cranberries…

…all topped with a tahini-ginger dressing I made. Mmmm!

With a naner.

Yes what you see in that photo are indeed chopsticks! I love eating with chopsticks as often as I can because it helps me enjoy every bite, slow down my eating, and really savor each item in the dish one by one.

Time to go for a workout run! Tomorrow I’m going to go running with my friend Karon and her running group. She’s running the Rock ‘N Roll too – in the half!

There are only 8 days left until the marathon, if you don’t count today. Oy! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Have a good rest of your day!

Entry filed under: Garden.

Recipe: Curried Carrot Bisque with Asparagus Team Running!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenna Jaguar  |  May 28, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    sounds like a great gardening endeavor! and that salad looked incredible… WOW!! Are you as impressed as I am by all the blooms this year?! My neighborhood is just BLOSSOMING!!! It makes my runs and walks sooo much more enjoyable ๐Ÿ™‚ I weeded a lot today and our flower beds look way better… now if I could just find my package of Claratin! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

