Recipe: Curried Carrot Bisque with Asparagus

May 24, 2010 at 8:16 am 1 comment

My favorite part about the change of seasons is definitely the change in foods around the market. Since San Diego doesn’t have strong seasons so begin with, I find myself getting overly excited with the fact that through our Mediterranean climate we still manage to have variation in seasonality with certain foods. One of those foods happens to be asparagus.

At you conventional grocery store, you’ll most likely find asparagus in the freezer aisle or produce department year round. Not at a farmers market!

Working at the farmers market has made me accustomed to knowing what is really in season, what the earth wants us to be eating. (Don’t try to force it/ship it/truck it in if it’s not supposed to be growing!) I can’t help but to fall into the rhythmic pattern every season when seeing the same foods around the market becomes a little too repetitive for me. That’s when I start anticipating foods I know will be coming in season next. I almost feel as though my body craves the foods that are in season. Asparagus was definitely on my mind at the beginning of April, and it seemed to have magically appeared at the Sage Mountain booth the same week I began to dream about it.

So, asparagus has been in season with full force about a month now and I’m still playing with it in the kitchen trying to decide on my favorite way to prepare it. This recipe began with one intention – to highlight the asparagus. I’m still in search of different ways to prepare it to my liking. In this dish, the asparagus remains a delicate garnish but I think it balances the bold flavors of the garlic and curry quite nicely.

Curried Carrot Bisque with Asparagus

(Serves 4-6)

Ingredients & Needs:

  • Need: A really good blender (I used a Vita Mix) or a high-speed food processor, hand mixer
  • 2 bunches carrots
  • 2 medium-sized beets
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 onion – yellow or red will do just fine
  • 4 large cloves of garlic
  • 1 bunch asparagus (Sage Mountain Farms)
  • 1-2 tsp curry powder
  • 1C coconut milk (light or whole is fine)
  • 3.5C to 4C water
  • Micro greens, sprouts, herbs, Greek yogurt for garnish (optional) – Check out these gorgeous sprouts I used from Suzie’s Farm!

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 450*F
  2. Rinse and prep your vegetables if you haven’t already!
  3. Cut the carrots, beets, bell pepper, onion, and garlic roughly. Cut them small enough so they can roast up quicker, if you are in a hurry.
  4. Toss the chopped veggies lightly with olive oil and a dash of salt and pepper. Place in a roasting dish in the oven and allow to roast for 40 minutes or until tender.
  5. As your vegetables are roasting, slice your asparagus at an angle to thimble sized pieces and place in a different roasting dish.
  6. Once your vegetables are tender, remove from oven and allow to cool just a bit in the roasting dish. Lower oven to 400*F.
  7. Add a drizzle of olive oil, salt, and pepper to the asparagus and place in the oven for 10 minutes or until tender.
  8. While the asparagus is roasting, add the roasted carrots, beets, bell pepper, onion, garlic, curry powder, and coconut milk to your blender or food processor. Beginning at a low-speed, gradually increase adding water until the ingredients are emulsified and reach a creamy consistency. Add salt and pepper, or more curry powder to taste.
  9. Serve warm in your favorite set of bowls and top with roasted asparagus, optional toppings and a crack or two of some earthy black pepper.
  10. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Recipe.

The Golden Run – Twenty Miles Clay and Sprouts

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  May 24, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Hmmm I just bought carrots AND asparagus at the farmers market the other day….might have to give this a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

