The Golden Run – Twenty Miles

May 23, 2010 at 10:00 am 3 comments

I’ve kept my training under wraps here on this blog, partly due to my injury a month ago and partly because I wasn’t completely sold on dropping down to the Rock ‘N Roll 1/2 Marathon. Longer runs became an afterthought for me ever since I hurt my ankle in early April. I have been cross training when possible and running every other day or so. I pretty much tossed the marathon training plan I had out the window and just started trusting my health and body when it told me to stop or keep going. I’ve done enough and that has felt good for me.

Earlier this past week I made a personal decision to run 20 miles on Saturday. I put the thought of running that distance in the very back of my mind so I wouldn’t try to over train during the week. I guess the plan was a little experiment of mine, a Hail Mary, to see if I would be able to handle 26.2 on June 6th. After this weekend it would be tapering period so it was my last shot at testing my ability.

Come Saturday, I was so excited for the run I woke up twice before my 5:25AM alarm sounded off. I first woke up after 3AM, then around 4:30AM and had trouble forcing myself to sleep a little longer! Somehow I managed to do it, and when I woke up, I was ready to do work on the pavement.

For breakfast, before heading out the door around 6AM I had a bowl of hearty, power oats and a cup of joe. *Ziiiiing!*

My power oats consisted of: 1/2C whole rolled oats, 1/2 homemade almond milk, 1 big spoonful of raw tahini, 1 sliced banana, 1 spoonful chia seeds, 1 spoonful of Sucanat, 1 teaspoon of vanilla,…walnuts on top.

I drove to my running destination and set out for my run at 7:25AM (ish). The weather was overcast and brisk but it was perfect for running.

My plan for the run: finish 5 miles four times, at a comfortable pace that allowed me to wish everyone a good morning. It was too nice of a morning not to say hi to fellow passers! πŸ™‚

I consumed 3 CLIF Shots, 20 ounces of coconut water, and lots H20 during my run.

I ran in an area different from where I normally run at, which definitely helped in distracting me from the distance I had left to endure. I don’t even really remember running through miles 4-14! Time flies when you’re having fun, and enjoying the view!

At mile 18 I felt as though my feet were engulfed by fire and swollen with blisters. Each passing minute on my watch seemed like an eternity so I made a constant effort to stop checking the time. What helped me push through the last few moments were some words that a running mentor of mine told me, “Running is 90% mental“. Since 18 miles was the furthest distance I’d ever gone before, I knew I was hitting my wall. My body wanted to stop, but my mind said no way! I set out to finish so I buckled down and dug deep. Real deep.

I somehow found it inside me to pick up my pace for the last 400 meters and finished strong, completing my 20 mile run in 3 hours 13 minutes. It was a golden run indeed, because I ran one mile for every year of my age! I walked a bit off in the parking lot near my car and also stretched in a patch of grass near by. My ankle didn’t bother me during the run at all!! I felt so relieved to have made it, and I am still blown away at how mental power can really carry the body through anything. I know am ready for the marathon! πŸ˜›

Even though I had no appetite (surprising, since I know I burned over 2,000 calories during the run!) I headed over to People’s Co-op for some lunch. Everything was SO delicious, even more so than usual for some reason. My plate had everything: brown rice, Hunan-style tempeh, bean medley, kale salad, wheat-free cashew cream pasta salad, and home-style potatoes.

I also enjoyed a banana.. it was even Fair Trade!

I headed home, relaxed and took a nap.. then I went out for my friend Brianna’s birthday. It was a surprise birthday dinner for her! We met at Bj’s, a huge pizza restaurant. I ordered the ‘Field of Greens’ salad and enjoyed a dinner roll as well.

It was nice spending time with everyone, I don’t get to see my old friends from high school often enough.

After coming home I made a banana soft serve dessert for my parents and myself, and enjoyed it with a piece of cookie. The cookie recipe is amazing and I’ll get around to posting it soon so keep an eye out! It’s gluten-free and vegan too. Yummy!

I’ll be paying back the mileage I put myself through this week for sure, as I am already very sore all over. Gotta keep stretching it out! Hopefully the soreness will wear off by Monday.. πŸ˜†

**Good luck to my parents today! They are running 12 miles in their last long run in training for the Rock ‘N Roll 1/2 Marathon. They have been doing great! **

“The only way to define your limits is by going beyond them.” – Anonymous 😎

P.S. We have sugar snap peas in the garden!!! :mrgreen:


Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Growth – April/May Recap Part 2 Recipe: Curried Carrot Bisque with Asparagus

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  May 23, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Great job on your 20 miles! It must feel wonderful to accomplish something like that. How is your ankle?

    Reply
  • 2. Alexandra  |  May 24, 2010 at 6:48 am

    Thank you! It feels pretty crazy, I’ll admit. I still can’t really wrap my mind around it, but I guess I don’t have to! My ankle feels fantastic. I’m sticking to whatever workouts I did last week because apparently they prepped me just fine. Surprising enough I only ran twice last week before the big run! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 3. Tomorrow! « Eat Persimmons!  |  June 5, 2010 at 6:43 am

    […] My first 20 miles […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

