Growth – April/May Recap Part 2

May 13, 2010 at 10:00 am 2 comments

Last post, I left you all with this question:

Have you ever though you knew what you really wanted and all of a sudden something comes along that makes you really think twice before making your decision?

Well that is certainly what happened to me!! And it doesn’t help that I happen to be one of the most indecisive people to ever walk the planet.

My mom and I went to visit UC Santa Cruz this past weekend so that I could finally figure out whether I wanted to attend UC Davis or UC Santa Cruz in the fall.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I first graduated high school June 2007, I attended the University of San Francisco from August ’07- May ’08.

Me as a high school grad


The view from my dorm room at USF was… amazing!

I was a Fine Art major then, and I had one goal in mind which was to graduate and work for either Disney or Pixar. I chose to attend USF because of its location in the heart of the city and also because of the school’s vision “Educating minds and heart to change the world”. University of San Francisco is a private Jesuit school, and I was very in touch with my Catholic faith up bringing then so the school seemed like a perfect fit for me. Winding down on my first year there, I felt as though I wasn’t receiving the art education I wanted from school so I chose to transfer to another college in San Francisco, Academy of Art University.Β  I planned on finishing school there as an Animation (Classical, 2D) Major, still with the hopes of working for Pixar or Disney. I only stayed at AAU for one semester because that semester is when I struggled with my eating disorder that snowballed from the summer before. I left at the end of the semester and through my rehabilitation, I felt that Animation was no longer my calling. A few members of my family asked me to take time off for myself to heal, but that wasn’t what I had in mind. I had to keep moving forward! I enrolled in classes at Grossmont College, a community college just a short commute from my home, taking courses to fulfill my G.E. requirements so that I could reorganize my future and find my path once again.

Facing the decision between UC Santa Cruz and UC Davis makes me feel as though I have come full circle. Just a few years ago, I was a girl with half my heart into what I called my ‘passion’ for art but now that I look back at it, I have never felt more certain of what I wanted to carry out in this life as I do now. I feel so grateful for all the struggle I endured because it truly made me stronger as an individual and without facing my eating disorder I would not be where I am today. What really saved me from my struggle was allowing myself to step away from the busy city environment, get out in nature, and ironically food itself, along with the farmers growing my food. My parents and close friends were amazing supporters along the way as I learned to let go during my time of new growth.

The UC Santa Cruz campus was breathtaking, and the town was very charming! The campus is literally tucked away in the Redwoods and there is a 25-acre farm as well as a garden on campus too. The school is so enriched with the idea of sustainability and I really admire how much they merge the idea of sustainable food on campus, providing a number of ways for students to get involved. I even had the chance to see two friends of mine that live in Santa Cruz now, and both were great company to see during my visit.

UCSC Farm

Alan Chadwick Garden

The view from campus!!

With all of that said, I’m excited to say that I’ll be attending UC Santa Cruz this coming Fall 2010! πŸ˜€


It certainly has been the most eventful past several weeks, and I’m just holding on tight for what is to come.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As far as my training for the Rock ‘N’ Roll Marathon goes…

The planning, eventing, volunteering, and road-tripping have all affected my training and activity level. I’ve come to acceptance with terms that since I have not been able to train the way I would have preferred, running in the full marathon may not be the best choice for me at this time. I will most likely be dropping down to the 1/2 marathon, which I know I will be better conditioned for. I feel like I am biting a bullet saying that! I keep reminding myself that 13.1 miles is nothing to scoff at. It is still a great achievement to pursue, and I’ve been having so much fun volunteering I don’t regret the time I’ve invested in the past events at all! I know that I am mentally prepared to run a full marathon and the great thing is that there will always marathons to train for! For my physical health, I would not want to put my body through such an intense task if I am not properly conditioned for it, because the last thing I want is an injury. The body is truly amazing and I’ve learned very well to respect my own for all it does for me everyday. I will keep you all updated with my training as race day approaches! (It’s June 6th!! Eeek!)

The garden…

Sooooo many of my plugs are ready to be transplanted. The gophers have definitely made an impact in the lettuces and chard (that were winding down on their production anyways). Though I am heart-broken that those plants were taken down, I’m excited to cycle out and get some new crops growin’ in the garden! Stay tuned for updates!

P.S. My strawberries aren’t pee-wees anymore!

” People grow through experience if they meet life honestly and courageously. This is how character is built. ” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Entry filed under: All.

Where Have I Been Hiding? – April/May Recap Part 1 The Golden Run – Twenty Miles

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eatgoodstuff  |  May 13, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I love that your USF dorm view is exactly the same as mine, only 1 floor higher πŸ™‚
    Congrats on UCSC! It is a great school and a beautiful city!
    I am hoping to be able to do the 1/2, but my shin splints have been pretty bad lately… if I do make it there, we should at least start together!

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  May 24, 2010 at 6:51 am

      Wow I took forever to respond to you! Congrats to getting into Oregon State ~ Go Beavers! Take it easy on yourself, Camille! Since Saturday, I’m deciding on going for the full – *gulp* I’ll be cheering for you doing the 1/2! We’ll have to meet up at the expo πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

