Happy Earth Day!

April 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm 7 comments

“The ultimate test of man’s conscience may be his willingness to sacrifice something today for future generations whose words of thanks will not be heard.”Gaylord Nelson, former governor of Wisconsin, founder of Earth Day

First off, I’d like to say that every day should be a celebration of the earth… but I love that there is a specified date on the calendar to acknowledge our wonderful planet and ways that we can treat it better! Today marks the 40th anniversary of the very first Earth Day.

For me, the festivities started last Sunday. San Diego hosts a huge EarthFair bonanza in Balboa Park, and thousands of people show up to hundreds of booths. Everyone is all pumped for the planet and there is an insane amount of booths educating people on how they can easily incorporate conscious ecological practices in their every day lives.

I was at EarthFair with San Diego Roots, helping them table and speak to people about the organization. It was so much fun getting to talk to people who came over and asked what Roots does! I loved sharing bits and pieces of information about the farmers markets and why supporting local farmers is important.

Victory Gardens San Diego, a partner project of Roots, shared the same space with us and even had a really cool garden set up in front of our tent!

I was so surprised when I woke up this morning to find SNOW outside my house! Usually the weather is warm and sunny by now and I don’t live at a very high elevation so I was blown away to see this outside!

I’m worried about the plugs I have since some of them need warm soil (tomatoes/eggplants). I had no idea the temperature was going to drop enough for there to be snow, otherwise I would have covered them before the evening. We’ll have to wait and see and hopefully they’ll be okay! I guess that’s part of the fun in gardening organically; nature does what it wants and you never know what will happen next!

Breakfast! My favorite part of the entire day!

I started my day with a cup of coffee, and some breakfast quinoa.

  • 1/2 C cooked quinoa
  • 1 banana, sliced…even though only about 3/4 of the sliced banana made it into the mug, I ate the other slices before they got the chance! 🙂
  • 2 big strawberries diced
  • walnuts, cinnamon, coconut butter & agave drizzle

In my favorite mug!

The strawberries from JR Organics are SO big right now!! They make the strawberries from my garden look like pip squeaks, and they are already tiny to begin with!

After breakfast I headed over to table for Roots, but this time it was at an Earth Day event in Downtown San Diego. I took a mini CLIF bar as a mid-morning snack. At the event, I was accompanied by Lauren, board member of Roots, and Bob, director of Victory Gardens. There were other cool organizations there, such as a non-profit tabling next to us that installs solar paneling in places of low-income with help of volunteers. I wish I remembered their name!

I came home to work on some e-mails I needed to send out for the CSSC Convergence I’ve mentioned. Before getting to business, I had some lunch!

Last night my mom made really good sweet potato and broccoli greens (from our garden!) for dinner while I was at the gym. Today I added some pine nuts, quinoa and chickpeas to the leftovers for lunch. Plus an apple. Mmm!

My afternoon snack was a handful of kumquats, some hummus and a few crackers.

Before dinner, I headed to the gym to get a work out in. I planned on cross training for the marathon today. I wanted to go for a ride on my bike but the weather conditions were less than favorable so I did about 45 minutes of indoor spin with some weights. I was almost at the gym for 2 hours! It’s too easy to get carried away in there sometimes, it is like a total bubble time warp. I’m glad I went though because I ran into my friend Brandon, who I haven’t seen in a very long time!

I came home to a nice bowl of soup that my mom made. Two nights in a row! I’m feeling pretty spoiled…

For dessert, I made the ever so famous banana soft serve. I always read about how amazing it is on a number of food blogs so I thought it was about time I gave it a try. Everyone was right, it is so-o-o yummy!

For three servings I placed two frozen bananas in my food processor with one tablespoon of raw tahini and voilà! I topped it with a bit of raw cacao nibs. So easy and so delish, if you haven’t made this yet, I will join the rest of the bloggers out there in telling you that it’s a must!

As I’m typing this, I’m also watching Avatar! It just came out on DVD today. I love this movie because of it’s theme about protecting our environment.

While at EarthFair on Sunday, I found this really creepy fact…

That is so unnecessary when you can easily take a canvas bag into your favorite store or shopping market! Using a re-usable shopping bag is the easiest way to help protect our environment, and there are so many options for bags out there that you don’t have to worry about them taking up a lot of space in your purse or car. I even take re-usable bags with me to clothing stores! With that fact in mind, I’m proposing a dare to you, and that dare is this: I dare you to make a conscious effort to use re-usable shopping bags wherever and when they are needed! If you already do so then pass on good karma and tell a friend. 🙂

Hope you had a good Earth Day, and let’s all do our part to make sure every day is as conscious about our environment as today!

Viva Verde!

Entry filed under: All.

Catching Up Where Have I Been Hiding? – April/May Recap Part 1

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cara Cadwallader  |  April 22, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Alex~ Your blog is stunning! I love both the physical and the verbal snapshots that you give of your healthy, So Cal life. The positive energy that you brim with jumps off of each posting… It’s soooo good, like a nutritious meal. ; )

    Reply
  • 2. eatgoodstuff  |  April 23, 2010 at 6:26 am

    I’m glad you had fun at Earth Day at Balboa!
    I wish I had thought to ask if you were going to be there so I could have stopped by and said hi!
    All of the food looks amazing!
    Coffee/Disneyland soon??

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly @ A Local Foodie's Fight  |  April 25, 2010 at 6:59 am

    Yayy reusable bags. and I LOVED Avatar. cried both times I watched it.

    Reply
  • 4. jill  |  May 3, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    All of your meals look delicious. I’m going to have that same breakfast tomorrow morning. I recently took a 5-week course on the raw food diet and your recipes fit right in.

    Reply
    • 5. Alexandra  |  May 11, 2010 at 6:10 am

      Thank you!

      I’ve been M.I.A. from my blog since I haven’t been home much lately, but I will begin posting more recipes these coming weeks. It’s time to catch up hehe.

      Reply
  • 6. Elina  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:38 am

    We have Earth Day expos in Boston too but they seem lame in comparison to this one 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Alexandra  |  May 11, 2010 at 6:09 am

      Everyday is Earth Day! The best expos are out in the wilderness and they are never ending 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

