Super Saturday!

April 12, 2010 at 9:49 pm 3 comments

I know it’s not the weekend anymore, but this was a special one so writing a recap was a must!

A few weekends ago (3 to be exact!) my dad and his wife Anne Marie came to visit me at the farmers market! When my dad first told me he had plans going, I honestly didn’t believe him at first. When I made my transition to eating healthier, I would invite my dad to some of my favorite restaurants for lunch and he never enjoyed the food served there because he would say it tasted ‘too healthy’! I was so jazzed to hear that Guera (That’s our family’s nick name for Anne Marie) and my dad were coming to the market, because it’s a place that is really close to me and aside from the farm. I view it as another epicenter for our food movement.

They loved the market! And I loved that they loved it! πŸ™‚

Guera is very driven to keep the momentum in changing the way she and my dad eat. I offered to be a helper for her as she makes this transition in their lifestyles, so this past Saturday we spent the day in the kitchen learning some basics!

We started our day in the morning at Whole Foods.Β  We walked down every single isle and I introduced Guera and my dad to some of my favorite ingredients to use in the kitchen like quinoa, raw nuts, Earth Balance, wild rice, nutritional yeast, and lentils. It was a lot of fun explaining why each and every food is so healthy and a better alternative to conventional foods.We left the store with lots of yummy food!

After shopping we headed back to my dad’s house to get to business. Guera and I were the kitchen queens for the day! My dad was the taste tester.

First up.. homemade granola!

I love to make home-made granola because I’m able to control the amount of sweetener in it, plus who doesn’t love the smell of cinnamon baking in the oven? I have some recipes of my own, but the other day I baked up some granola using a recipe from The Edible Perspective. I gifted that granola to Guera and she became instantly hooked so Saturday we made some of our own! Our granola was made with:

  • Rolled oats, agave, vanilla, cinnamon, cranberries, goji berries, walnuts, almonds, pumpkin seeds, and poppy seeds.

~Mmm!~

After making the granola it was lunch time! I brought two cookbooks of mine, so we whipped up some Spicy Thai Lettuce Wraps from The Balanced Plate. That cookbook is amazing by the way – it is so much more than just a book of recipes!

I was kind of nervous about serving this to my dad. I’ve made him lunches in the past and let’s just say he has never been a huge fan of anything I make. I’d like to thank Guera for encouraging my dad to keep an open mind as they begin eating healthier. She is really been making a difference!

My dad loved the lettuce wraps! πŸ™‚

We were so stuffed after lunch, it was the perfect time to sit and watch a movie. My dad and Anne Marie celebrated their anniversary on February 14th and my gift to them was Food Inc. Since they hadn’t had time watch it yet, I figured it would be a perfect film to tie in to our day!

After the film it was back to the kitchen we went! I think my dad took a nap at this point..

Next menu item: Quinoa Pilaf with Parsley, Scallions, and Black Sesame Gomasio! Recipe also from The Balanced Plate.

The taste of this pilaf was out of this world! The kombu seaweed the recipe called for added so much depth to the quinoa because we added two blades directly into the pan while it simmered. Guera saved this in the fridge to have with her lunches during the week.

We finished the day by making a pot of Chunky Lentil Soup from one of my new favorite cookbooks, Super Natural Cooking. I love this cookbook so much and I’m really inspired by Heidi Swanson’s cooking style.Β  Hopefully some day I’ll have a cookbook of my own! πŸ™‚

But anyways, you are probably wondering how the soup turned out, right?

It was delicious! I wasn’t able to eat an actual bowl before I left because it was early evening and I wasn’t all that hungry.

It was such an amazing day, I really enjoyed sharing the kitchen with Anne Marie and teaching her what I know about cooking healthy. I’m so glad that she is taking the initiative for her health and my dad’s as well. My dad is slowly but surely catching on to why it’s important to buy organic and support local farmers, and with anything takes time. I can’t express how much it means to me that they are embarking on this journey in their lives. πŸ™‚ I look forward to cooking more meals with them both!

I’ll leave you with this question: Do you cook with your family and friends often? What is your favorite meal to cook and/or eat with them?

Entry filed under: All.

Two Can Play That Game! Recipe: Cauliflower and Lambsquarter Burritos

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carla  |  April 13, 2010 at 5:51 am

    Alex – this is awesome and how cool to spend the day cooking. It’s great news to hear the healthy changes your dad and guera are making. they are great people so we want them around a long time πŸ™‚ we love you!

    Reply
  • 2. Ann Marie  |  April 13, 2010 at 8:02 am

    “Super Saturday” was just as awesome and satifactory for me and Jorge as well as it was for Alex!!!
    Just spending quality time with our daughter means the world to us and not to mention learning how we can improve our lives so we can live a longer, healthier more productive life.
    Alex is a wealth of knowledge and I am learning so much from her.
    One of the most important things I learned Saturday was what I buy is my “vote” it really hit home for me that I can make simple changes, that have positive effects on many other people, like our local farmers!
    Thank you Alex for being such a wonderful daughter, you truely are an inspiration not only to us but to many other people. Keep the positive fibes going meja, WE LOVE YOU!!

    Ann Marie

    Reply
  • 3. Carla  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Guera – Right on!! And props to you for having an open mind and heart to make these small yet BIG changes. Personally, I feel so great to be able to feed our little family of three healthy and fresh food. You and Tio should check out Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution – it’s a show on Friday evenings on ABC. It talks about the food we are feeding our children in public school.

    Happy cook – and eating – to you!

    xoxo,
    Carla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

