When Homework Calls…

March 19, 2010 at 7:26 am 2 comments

You can thank the lack of posts recently to school! It’s pretty important to me so things that don’t involve the test I have coming up on Monday (or training, or watering plants) have fallen to a lower place on my priority list. Can’t blame a mind hungry for knowledge!

This morning, I made pancakes using a recipe from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Vegan Brunch cookbook. I substituted organic whole wheat flour for all-purpose and topped it with some nuts and the compote I made (recipe posted yesterday).

Some happenings of the week:

Monday

  • The sprouter really worked! I’m still growing the alfalfa seeds, but the wheat berries and lentils turned out just lovely.

  • Skipped my running work out because my Achilles was feeling a little tender. I’d rather ‘take one for the team’ and skip a day, than ignore the pain and really injure myself and be out for the race.

Tuesday

  • Ran 4 miles in the morning with my friend, Luke. He just completed his first triathalon last Sunday!
  • Tested my new compression socks. Ankle back to normal! 🙂 But still being a smart runner and making sure to stretch properly before and after each run.
  • Went to the market with Nicky, and picked up some rhubarb and kalamata olives.

Wednesday

  • Ran 6 miles.
  • St. Patrick’s dinner was a green feast featuring brown rice, cabbage, and some green split pea baked falafels I made. Parents gave it two thumbs up!

Thursday

  • Rest day for marathon training.
  • The beet babies have loved the sunshine here in San Diego!
  • Cauliflower is peeking out.
  • Went to City Farmer’s in the morning with my dad, and bought some seeds and sweet corn seedlings!

On dirt…

So the skies have been clear, the sun has shone, the weather has been very nice, and the temperature has been in the low 80s.. how does this affect my garden? Well first off, just to remind you all: I am an organic gardening and food growing novice. Of course I know the basics like how to sow seeds, watering, weeding and what not. I have watered daily but what I realized yesterday was that our soil that was once so rich and lush, does not look that way at first sight anymore! Why? Well the only explanation I can give is the fact that my garden is not shaded and is basking in the sun all day. Sun is so important for the little garden here at my house, but healthy and moist soil is too! The top of the soil is a becoming a bit too dry and crumbly. Ahhh! 😦

When I first realized this, I completely freaked out! It’s actually the only thing I’ve been able to think about, and I’m hoping my garden doesn’t die!

Okay… breathe in..

…breathe out.

I may be a little too freaked out about this. There is always an answer and a way to solve things in a calm manner!

In my distress and search for peace of mind, I took it to the books and internet yesterday researching methods of keeping the soil moist to create sustainable growing environments for the plants. One word that I saw over and over was mulch. I use compost in my garden, but I learned that mulch is entirely different. They can be confused, or at least I confused the two at first. Mulch is something you put over your soil (that has composed mixed in it) to help keep the soil moist. Materials commonly used as mulch are: newspaper, shredded paper (non-glossy), grass clippings from a mowed lawn, bark chips, and black plastic. I’m looking into trying out the black plastic, because I think it will be the most beneficial to the garden and to get the job done. The color will attract heat and help to warm the soil and at the same time it will keep the weeds under control. Nice!

On water…

Here at home, the current method for watering the plants is by using our 1 gallon watering can and garden hose, watering all the plants one by one. Right now drip irrigation is kind of out of the question since the garden is so small and is acting as the guinea pig as I dip my toes into the gardening world. Here in California water is a very limited resource; it has been the cause of many city and county-wide restrictions over the past few years. Learning about gardening is also helping me learn about things that farmers face on a grand scale, especially concerning efficient irrigation and water. Why is this so important? Stay tuned to find out!

Time for me to sign off and hit the textbooks! Just to leave you with a quote that ties into the topic of water and my upcoming philosophy mid-term…

“Be careful what you water your dreams with. Water them with worry and fear and you will produce weeds that choke the life from your dream. Water them with optimism and solutions and you will cultivate success. Always be on the lookout for ways to turn a problem into an opportunity for success. Always be on the lookout for ways to nurture your dream.” – Lao Tzu

Entry filed under: All.

Recipe: Strawberry Apple Rhubarb Compote Dirt Shakin’ and Water Savin’

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  March 20, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    I can’t wait for the plants to grow!!! It’s like having your own little babies! ahhah Love that quote at the end. and I feel you with having to put homework before blogging 😦 gah!! need more hours in the day!!

    Reply
  • 2. Alexandra  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Seriously! More hours would be most appreciated. I don’t know how some bloggers can post so often, my hats off to them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

