Sunny Days

March 13, 2010 at 8:40 am 1 comment

Yesterday morning, I finally got around to trying my tiered sprouter.

Sprouting helps make the seeds, nuts, grains, and legumes easier to digest in their raw state. I love using them in salad and sandwiches. We’ll see how well my sprouter does at producing some.

This is very random, but a lot of weeds have popped up around my yard.. and is it just me or does this weed remind anyone else of the weird costumes in Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” music video?

Yesterday afternoon I was going to run 3 miles, or I should have, according to my training schedule for the marathon. Since I am going to run in the 5K this Sunday with my friend Nicky, I opted to switch it up a bit and take a ride outdoors. It was too sunny to resist! I normally cross-train indoors on a spin bike, because lately it has been cold outside and I, personally, don’t like having icy wind being wicked in my face (who likes runny noses? I don’t). Over the summer my bike and I were inseparable, and once Autumn settled in I traded my clip ins for my running shoes. It felt just like old times while riding yesterday. It was nice to feel the road in a different way for a change, and feel the power behind every pedal stroke. It’s so different from running. For me, I enjoy cross training because it challenges different muscles, and I also learn which breathing pattern works best in certain situations. Yesterday I finished 1hr 20min ride that included 30- second sprints and a few hills. It was a great ride!

By the way.. ALWAYS WEAR A HELMET! Who cares how big and clunky it is!? You have invested a lot of time, money, and effort to gain your smarts and intelligence in this life.. don’t ever think of throwing that all away by riding without a helmet. Safety first!

After my ride I met with my friend Robbie, and we hiked at Torrey Pines State Park.

Ahhh! Who doesn’t love a good sea breeze?

Max is back to his normal self. He always stands by his perch waiting for us to come home when we leave the house!

This morning I made my parents and myself pumpkin pie oatmeal for breakfast. Instead of rolled oats I used a 1/2 C Kasha groats and 1/2 C steel-cut oats. Topped with Greek yogurt mixed with vanilla, cinnamon, and agave. I accompanied my oats with a warm mug of coffee. It’s so nice on mornings that are a little on the chilly side.

Well it’s time for me to head out and check off a 10 mile run from my to do list, along with some studying! My mom and I are going to head out together so it should be fun. šŸ™‚

Have a good weekend!

Entry filed under: All.

Magic On A Plate Recipe: Spinach Linguine and Easter Egg Radishes

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

