Magic On A Plate

March 11, 2010 at 9:24 pm 7 comments

I started my day with a delicious green smoothie.

Today was generally spent in the garden. It was so gorgeous outside, and I had the honest intentions of going out for a bike ride but decided to plant some carrot and zucchini seeds instead. Food always wins right? I’m hoping the sun will be out again tomorrow for my run…and maybe I’ll squeeze in the ride I didn’t do today too!

Max is feeling a lot better, but as you can see he doesn’t like wearing the cone of shame. (Anybody see Pixar’s UP! ?)

I made lunch for myself and my dad today. We both had some awesome sandwiches. I like to call this creation: The CHAMP

I give The CHAMP two thumbs up. It starred:

  • Onion bread from Bread & Cie.
  • Tomatoes and spinach from J.R. Organics
  • Dill hummus made by yours truly
  • Cottage cheese (Nancy’s)
  • Scrambled eggs with red onion mixed in (eggs from San Pasqual Academy)

I also had some orange slices on the side. 🙂

Just a few days ago, I noticed that my beet seeds finally peeked out of the soil. These are the first seeds that I’ve ever planted so it’s a feeling that is indescribable for me. I’m going to take care of these little heirloom beets as if they were my own child! Mother’s don’t eat their children, but I hope you understand that tender loving care is vital in growing good food!

Other things to highlight from the garden…

The strawberries are growing little by little every day! The butter crunch lettuce is looking so crisp. It’s hard not resist the urge of munching on it, but it will make its way into a salad sooner or later…

There was a lot of tilling that needed to be done today. The rain is awesome, but after it dries it leaves the dirt very cake-y and stiff. The growing plants need soil with good aeration so the water can seep through with ease. While working the soil, I came across very many worms.

Worms are good, not gross! They show that the soil is healthy and thriving.

One of my three cats kept me company this afternoon. Chachi did a little modeling for me..He loves the garden

Today’s pick was Red Russian Kale. It’s official, we have made our very first harvest!

I clipped mature leaves from the stem of the plant, leaving the younger leaves to continue growing. The only way I can describe using the fresh kale is that it brought a new dimension of life into the kitchen. I don’t even think I have the right words to describe what it’s like to cook and eat something that is grown directly in your very own front yard. I think it’s something you’ll have to try for yourself.

I cooked the kale with chickpeas in an orange-lemon dressing and served it along side steamed quinoa and roasted red and candy striped beets. It was pure magic on a plate. The flavors blended so well together and the photo does not even come close to capturing the shade of emerald green glistening from the kale. I think I’m still in a state of bliss after devouring my dinner! Mmmmmmmm…

Nothing in the garden grows rapidly overnight and the change is gradual. Patience is just as important as harvesting the food itself. Once the patience is found, the first bite of the harvest tastes so much richer.

Entry filed under: All.

Max’s Big Day Sunny Days

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Camille  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    “He wears the cone of shame!”

    Reply
  • 2. provocativeedibles  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    OMG you made your first harvest! I love it! I think i kind of neglected my plants for too long, theres a chance that I will have to cut some of them down… but it’s okay, I’m determined that I can do it once again! And thank you for posting me on your twitter, i was so excited when I saw that haha.

    Reply
  • 3. provocativeedibles  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    oh btw, your dog is the cutest thing ever haha!

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:47 am

    AWW poor Max! the dreaded cone, lol.

    The champ sounds awesome. never would think to put all that stuff together but I bet it was great.

    Reply
  • 5. susan from food blogga  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Hi Alex! One definite disadvantage about living in a high-rise condo is not being able to have a garden. Yours is lovely! Nice to “meet” you. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Alexandra  |  March 13, 2010 at 6:56 am

      Thank you 🙂 My garden is small but it means business at rolling out the grub!
      Have you ever tried a window sill planter?

      Reply
  • 7. ‘Tis the season… « Adventures of a Real Foodie  |  June 18, 2011 at 8:42 am

    […] summer will be my first try at container gardening. Last year I gardened from home where I had plenty of space to put plants in the soil, 2 acres worth! Since moving, my space has […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

