A Day of Eats

March 4, 2010 at 8:52 pm Leave a comment

Today was my day off of training (aside from Sunday). Even so, I was able to squeeze in a one hour workout in the afternoon with some weights. πŸ™‚

This morning, continuing with my green smoothie kick, I had a “breen smoothie” for breakfast.

Breen.. because it was a brown/green color!

My smoothie consisted of:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 C coconut water
  • 1/4 C almond milk
  • 6 huge green romaine leaves
  • 1 T raw tahini
  • 2 Tb goji berries
  • 1 T raw cacao
  • ice cubes
  • 1 quick squeeze of agave

It was SO good! I think the goji berries made it extra special. If you have never had them before, you should give them a try! They are similar to what raisins and cranberries are, but they have a different kind of sweetness to them. They are also considered a superfood. I think they are a bit pricey so I use them very sparingly in the kitchen.

I worked outside in the garden, tilling a bit of land since the ground is so soft..I’m pretty excited to plant tomatoes soon! I also sawed down a dead tree we had on the side of my house, because I want to revamp the area it was in. Sadly, I didn’t take a photo so just imagine a dead tree being broken to smithereens. πŸ™‚ I also ate a chirimoya mid-morning.

For lunch, I had half portion of last nights left-overs, with a side of 1 sliced apple and some strawberry Greek yogurt as dipping sauce.

(To make the dipping sauce, all I did was blend fresh strawberries with some Greek yogurt.)

For my afternoon workout, I did:

  • 30 minutes spin bike intervals with hills
  • 10 X 3 reclined leg press
  • 12 X 3 seated row
  • 12 X 3 tricep dips
  • lots of pull-ups on the pull up machine
  • lots of sit ups!!

I even tried a new push-up with the big exercise ball.

What I did was balance my feet instep on the ball, and while holding a push-up position do one push up and after coming back into a plank, curling my legs in to work my abdominals. That was one. I did 3 sets of 12! I’m most certain I will feel very sore tomorrow, but it will be worth it! After my workout I ate some crackers.

For dinner I cooked red bell peppers, zucchini, black beans and red onions fajita style. I served it with a side of roasted fingerling potatoes that I tossed with left over wild/brown rice (I made a LOT last night!).

My parents loved it πŸ˜€

Time to find something for dessert, and watch American Idol! I have about four favorites, but sadly I don’t really have their names down by memory yet.

Last week I surprised my parents by taking them to the live taping of the first results show. It was very cool seeing how everything really works off camera. There were only 100 of us in the studio!

Have you ever been to a taping of a television show?

Entry filed under: All.

Technical Difficulties… Sweet Sixteen

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

