Recipe: Basic Green Smoothie

March 2, 2010 at 10:33 am 3 comments

Lately I have been all about making green smoothies! I think it’s greatly due to the fact that spring is right around the corner, and maybe my body might be craving more leafy greens in my diet. It’s a fresh way to make breakfast, lunch, or a snack in a snap. I promise you won’t even taste the greens, either!

Basic Green Smoothie

(Serves 1-2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana or 1 ripe avocado
  • 1 C greens (spinach, romaine, arugula, beet tops, kale, etc..)
  • 1 Tb nut butter (peanut butter, tahini, etc..)
  • 1/2 C coconut water or almond milk
  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • 1 Tb flax or hemp seed
  • drizzle of agave/honey (optional)
  • raw cacao powder (optional)
  • tsp of bee pollen (optional)

Directions:

  1. Place your greens and coconut water in a high speed blender. Process until liquified.
  2. Add remaining ingredients, process on medium and increase to high speed until well blended.
  3. Serve in a nice tall glass, chilled.

Take some creative license and try different substitutes for the ingredients. Sometimes I omit part of an ingredient and add another (ie. Half a banana and half diced apple). Just remember that when using darker greens, they tend to be a little more bitter (but they are more pack with vitamins too!) so if you choose to use kale over spinach you will be able to taste the kale in your smoothie more.

Cheers!

Entry filed under: Recipe.

Recipe: Beet Burgers Chelsea King

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sofia Klar  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I love green smoothies but i am always curious what is in one. I can’t wait to try this.

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  March 3, 2010 at 6:02 am

      Thanks for the sweet comment Sofi 🙂
      Green smoothies are so addicting, huh? Let me know how you like it 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Magic On A Plate « Eat Persimmons!  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    […] March 11, 2010 I started my day with a delicious green smoothie. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

