Quelle Week!

February 21, 2010 at 10:01 pm Leave a comment

This week has surely been a hectic one! I apologize for not posting all week-long, folks!

At the start of the week, I attended the weekly San Diego Roots Monday meeting. This is where I first heard news about the AAAS convention here in San Diego. The AAAS convention was a science convention that took place starting Thursday, and ended today. Over 8,000 scientists from all over the world were in attendance discussing a number of topics to better our world through study and research. Monsanto, a very large agriculture company founded in 1901, was going to be speaking at the convention center today. There is a lot of controversy in the history of Monsanto; the majority resting in the ethics of their research, their injustice towards farmers, and their involvement with the FDA. Their controversies are enough to have a great effect on me emotionally, because of my love for organic farming practices, the environment, and honest food.

I searched for a way to voice my opinion since the Forbes top 100 company was paying a visit, but I found that nothing was really organized at the time. I struggled with the idea of rising to the occasion, despite my passion for activism. I have attended a number of protests in my past, mainly while living in San Francisco, but I had never organized one.  I consulted a number of my close peers and I also consulted a professor of mine, whom I respect very much. After receiving their opinion, I realized that I really was capable of organizing something despite short notice. As I prepared for the demonstration I also teamed up with my new friend Joann. She is just as passionate about this issue, and was organizing the same type of event as well.

My personal stance at the convention center today was solely to educate the public about genetically modified foods. If those of us who are aware of the injustice being committed towards consumers plan to take any further action, we cannot be effective without gaining more support from the public. People deserve the right to know. The most eye-opening pattern I discovered while promoting the demonstration earlier this week was the number of people not educated about what a GMO is, who Monsanto is, and why they should even care about either of the two.

Today was definitely an enormous learning experience for me. It had its pros and cons, and I’m so thankful that I was able to take part in standing up for something I believe in.

This evening, I found an amazing quote that I think perfectly sums up the message I would like to relay to some of you reading this:

“Do not speak unless you can improve the silence.” – Proverb

The time has come to bring clarity between genetically modified foods and the organic perspectives of agriculture. The time has come for people to know about their food.

Entry filed under: All.

Don’t Panic! It’s Organic! Fresh

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

