Don’t Panic! It’s Organic!

February 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm 4 comments

It’s amazing what a sunny day can do for your mind! Let alone, spending a sunny day gardening. 🙂

After breakfast this morning, I headed to City Farmers Nursery, here in San Diego. I’m sure there are closer nurseries, but I really like the atmosphere there. I picked up some new plants for the growing garden my parents and I have. I picked up:

  • Celery
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Broccoli
  • Butter crunch lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Fennel
  • Dill
  • LOTS of strawberry plants!!

I was so happy driving the baby plants in my car, I got busy as soon as I returned home!

Before getting dirty…

Max worked hard too…

On his suntan, that is! 😀

Unfortunately I forgot to put sunscreen on. I’m usually the queen of preaching about sunscreen, too. Shame on me! My back is bright red now.. oops!

We have been composting all of our organic scraps, so by using that in our soil, it is thriving with life. I found lots of worms wiggling around!

Here is the finished product of the day:

Strawberries close up..

Spinach close up…

There is nothing like getting nice and dirty! Working in the garden makes me feel like one with the earth. I wish I could just lay there all day and soak up the sun like the plants do.

Max likes gardening too…because he gets to nap in the sun all day 🙂

I did take a quick break between gardening. I made this recipe from Vegan Yum Yum yesterday and had the left-overs for lunch. It was just as delicious as the day before!

After a day of working in the soil, I headed for my 3-mile workout and weight training at the gym. Then I came home and made a collard leaf taco with a side of quinoa..

My taco was made with 2 collard green leaves (they were small) with hummus, shredded carrot, zucchini, avocado, basil, black pepper, and basil-poppy seed dressing. Yummmmm!

I’m so grateful that today brought loads of sunshine. I’d like to sign off for the night leaving you with this awesome quote I read yesterday:

“”We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.””

— Abraham Lincoln

Entry filed under: All, Garden.

Brutal! Quelle Week!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. conradvisionquest  |  February 17, 2010 at 5:45 am

    your dog is adorable! love that quote from lincoln…
    ~w

    Reply
  • 2. The Folks at City Farmers  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Alex,

    Thanks so much for mentioning us here!! We love to see our plants go home to good homes like yours!

    We’re looking for a garden/food/lifestyle blogger to teach a free class at the nursery… to inspire people about how easy blogging about gardening can be. If you’re interested, email us.

    Happy Planting!
    -The City Farmers Nursery Team

    Reply
    • 3. Alexandra  |  February 22, 2010 at 5:57 am

      I looked for the e-mail on the City Farmers web page and sent one 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Ann Marie  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:00 am

    I love your site Meja, keep up the good work! Stay strong in training, you are an inspiration!

    Love,
    Guera

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

