Brutal!

February 13, 2010 at 10:48 pm 3 comments

I love running.

All runners know that as empowering and inspiring it is to go on longer runs, some days your legs don’t want to do work at all! Today was one of those days for me, and all I can say was the start of my 10 mile was BRUTAL.

I woke up and had 2 Nature’s Path waffles, with 1 banana (sliced), and a side of Greek yogurt. I mixed a teaspoon of vanilla, a dash of cinnamon, and some agave in my yogurt to make it more of a dip for my waffles.

I headed out on my run about mid-morning. It felt like forever before I reached mile 1. Of course I know it is all mental! It wasn’t until mile 6 that I finally got in my zone. All the while between my start and mile 6, as heavy as my legs felt, I just held on waiting for my gusto to come around. I ended up running 12 miles instead of 10!

Later this afternoon, I met with my dad and his wife at The Linkery restaurant. It is known for its meat selection, but they also have killer vegetarian tacos!

My tacos had salsa, queso fresco, portobello mushrooms, cabbage, and a side salad. YUM!

Even though I’m vegetarian, I love eating at The Linkery because all of their food comes from local organic farms. Their menu changes everyday, based on what is available from the farms/what is in season.Ā 

Another cool thing that The Linkery does, is automatically incorporating gratuity on the bill. Any tips left aside from the added gratuity go to the charity of the month. This month’s charity happens to be San Diego Roots, the organization I am a volunteer for!

Lunch was on me today because my dad and Guera, his wife, celebrate their 1 year anniversary tomorrow (Valentine’s Day)! I don’t get too see them very often, so it was a nice time catching up. šŸ™‚

Later today, I made beet burgers for dinner. They turned out really well.. so expect a recipe in the near future! šŸ˜€ Here is a teaser:

I’m glued to the TV watching the OLYMPICS. Knowing all the training the Olympic athletes go through is such a huge motivator for me to train hard for my marathon!

My favorite athlete on the US team is the speed skater, Apolo Ohno. I have had a silly crush on him since 6th grade. I hope he wins some serious hardware in Vancouver!

Are you watching the Olympics this year? Do you have a favorite athlete?

Entry filed under: All.

Teach the Future Don’t Panic! It’s Organic!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carla  |  February 14, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Good morning, Sunshine!
    I just showed Omar your blog as we laid in bed this early Sunday morning. Lunch looked delish and it appears the company wasn’t bad either šŸ™‚

    Go Apolo!!

    xoxo,
    Carla, Omar and Isabella

    Reply
  • 2. Alexandra  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:43 am

    šŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by Carla. Much ā¤

    Reply
  • 3. Pat (Hannah's bro)  |  February 17, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I can understand the Apollo love, but really, Lindsey Vonn’s where it’s at.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

