Recipe: Twisty Pasta with Creamy Dill Sauce

February 11, 2010 at 7:52 am 5 comments

Everyone knows dill as it is most commonly used with pickles. I didn’t really like the flavor of dill a year ago. I started munching on it raw here and there while helping Joe (J.R. Organics) at the market and I started to enjoy it! I am usually told that dill is great when used with fish by customers at the market. I don’t eat fish, so I have experimented with dill in the kitchen, trying different ways of using it. This herb is a great addition to salads, roasted veggies, and more.

For this recipe, I made a killer dill sauce and added it to pasta and some fresh vegetables. It ended up being a quick, delicious and creamy dish…reminiscent of some good home-made comfort food!

Twisty Pasta with Creamy Dill Sauce

(Serves 4-6)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cups tofu, cut into small cubes
  • 2-3 cups dill, chopped (depending on how much you like dill)
  • 2/3 cup raw walnut pieces
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 3 medium cloves of garlic
  • zest and juice of 1 medium lemon
  • water
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 medium-sized cauliflower
  • 2 carrots diced
  • 1 large onion, halved and then quartered
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 cups dry corkscrew pasta (I used gluten-free veggie pasta from the bulk bins at my local co-op)

Creamy Dill Sauce Directions:

  1. To a food processor with the S-blade in place, add the tofu, walnuts, dill, and garlic. Process until ingredients are combined and resemble a crumbly mixture.
  2. Add the olive oil, zest, salt/pepper to taste, and lemon juice and process once again. While the food processor is running, slowly add water to the mixture until you have reached a creamy saucy consistency. You will know when it’s right by testing it with your index finger. If the sauce is a little thick (not watery) and sticks to your finger then it’s ready.
  3. Makes about 2 cups, depending on how much water you add. Set sauce aside until ready to combine with the pasta. (I had to set the sauce VERY far away from me because it tasted so good I kept trying spoonfuls of it while I was cooking!)

Pasta Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil to blanch your cauliflower. Blanching vegetables makes them soft enough to chew, but keeps a little of their crunch too. Once you have reached a boil, add the cauliflower for 2-3 minutes, remove from water, and rinse them under cold water. Set cauliflower aside.
  2. Keep the water used for the cauliflower in the large pot (still boiling) and add your pasta. Cook pasta as instructed, or until al-dente. Drain and set pasta aside. ***The reason why I used  gluten-free veggie pasta in this recipe is because I wanted to try something different! Also, they were bright and colorful and I knew they would make any dish look beautiful.***
  3. Heat a large frying pan over medium heat with a bit of olive oil. Add onion, garlic, and carrots and stir around for 5 minutes or until carrots slightly soft.
  4. Next, add the cauliflower to the pan and mix for about 4 more minutes.
  5. Gently add the cooked pasta and combine with the ingredients. Lower your heat to a medium-low.
  6. Pour your dill-sauce over your pasta mixture. Stir everything together until each vegetable and noodle is covered and loved by the sauce.
  7. Serve warm, and garnish with extra clippings of dill.

Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Recipe.

Recipe: Golden Beet Salad Symphony Teach the Future

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenna  |  February 11, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    wow alex that sounds delicious!!

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  February 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      Thank you, Jenna 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. conradvisionquest  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:23 am

    oh, my! that looks and sounds wonderful! i am trying that next week. ~w

    Reply
    • 4. Alexandra  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:03 am

      Thanks! I hope it turns out great 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Brandon  |  May 15, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Hi Alex this is Brandon from the farmers market. Your page rocks! I’m looking forward to trying your recipes. I’ll see you at the market.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

