The Rain, The Sea, My Feet, and Me.

February 6, 2010 at 3:40 pm 1 comment

I had a very good visit in L.A. yesterday! It’s always great catching up with friends.

I took the train up because: a) I hate driving for more than 2 hours, and b) why waste gas/burn fuel when I can take a train that is already heading up north anyway?

Trains are fun! This was probably my fifth time riding on one. The sky was a bit overcast, and I knew there was rain predicted so I made sure I brought an umbrella with me.

Once I arrived, it was already raining. Kate picked me up from the station and took me to one of my favorite restaurants, Planet Raw. I love the food there because it’s so fresh! Raw foods are ‘living foods’ that are not heated over 116*F in order to preserve enzymes, which help our body to digest food. (To learn more about the raw food diet check out www.living-foods.com.)

For lunch at Planet Raw, I ordered an acai smoothie..

…and the “It’s A Wrap!” nori wrap; filled with avocado, cucumber, collard greens, a cashew dressing and other beautiful delicious veggies.

Since it was pouring rain outside, Kate and I hung out at her house and watched movies. For dinner, Kate took me to “The Vegan Joint” which was right around the corner from her house. I had a veggie soup with an egg roll on the side. For dessert, Kate and I split four cute little cupcakes!

After dinner we went to see our friend T.K.’s film “It’s Never Too Late” at its screening. T.K made his documentary while studying abroad in Germany. Without being biased, it was easily the best film that screened for the evening. πŸ™‚

____

This morning I headed back home on the train, bright, early…and rainy. For breakfast I had a big asian pear and a Cranberry Orange Nut Bread CLIF bar.

Just as a note: I love the rain, I just don’t like being in it! πŸ˜•

But, since I am training for my first marathon…did you think that would stop me from my very first 12 mile run? No way JosΓ©! πŸ˜€

After getting off the train and having a CLIF shot, I headed out on my run. It was REALLY coming down, but it felt so good. I ran an easy course along the coast. It was great seeing the huge surf as I ran.

I felt alive and I also got soaked to the core! A little water never hurt anyone πŸ˜€

My goals for this run were to:

  1. Finish.
  2. Enjoy the rain.
  3. Say hi to everyone I ran by.
  4. Keep from slipping!

I couldn’t help but start laughing towards the end of my run, because the amount of wind and rain was ridiculous!

After coming home, my mom surprised me with a warm soup she made!


Now that my hunger is satisfied, and my legs are sore… I think I’m just about ready to take a nap.

I hope you are enjoying your weekend and if you’re near any rain.. make sure you stay dry!

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Keeping the Beet Recipe: Golden Beet Salad Symphony

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

