Keeping the Beet

February 5, 2010 at 8:19 am 3 comments

Lately, my body has been craving beets.

So, last night I decided to make an enormous beet salad. I love to make big salads, because then there are leftovers to eat for lunch for a couple days. In my salad, I tossed boiled beets with quinoa, goat feta, artichoke hearts, chickpeas, and beet tops with lemon juice and a poppy seed dressing I got from the farmers market.

Beet tops are the greens that shoot out from the beet. Did you know you can use beet tops just like you use spinach, or swiss chard?

After supper, I went on a night hike with my two friends Mason and Aaron. It was foggy and chilly, but a lot of fun! I woke up this morning VERY sore! We hiked Mt. Woodson, which is a nearby mountain where I live. It has pretty steep inclines and is about three miles round trip.

Even though I felt sore after waking up, I still had to train at some point today… so I hit the gym this morning!

My quick workout consisted of:

  • 3 miles on the treadmill at 7.5 speed, incline set at 2
  • 3 X 2 minute planks
  • 3 X 12 push ups
  • …lots of sit ups! ( I lost count)

I said quick workout because I’m going to be catching the train to visit my friends in L.A. today 🙂

I enjoy listening to music when I go running. The other day, I was talking about this with my dad, who recently signed up to do the Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon with my mom.( More on that in a future post!)

My dad prefers to run without music. I like running with music because it helps me stay driven and also keeps me distracted.

One song I’ve listened to during my runs lately is Notion by Kings of Leon.

Do you listen to music when you workout?

Well, I’m off to the train station! As my friend Leslie says: Keep the beet! Have a good day 🙂

Entry filed under: All.

A Day at the Farmers Market The Rain, The Sea, My Feet, and Me.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol  |  February 6, 2010 at 9:26 am

    I always need music when I exercise. It keeps me in motion.

    Reply
  • 2. Wai-Kwan  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I used to run with music but now I run without it as I feel like I miss a lot of the scenery and life going on around me… It used to help a lot during sprint trainings though. Such great motivation!

    Reply
  • 3. Music & Lyrics « Eat Persimmons!  |  June 11, 2010 at 8:22 am

    […] know I’ve asked whether you listen to music during your workouts here on the blog already, so for those of you who are music listeners.. What do you like to listen to? What is your […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

