A Day at the Farmers Market

February 4, 2010 at 5:06 pm Leave a comment

It’s early on a Sunday morning, the sky is slightly overcast, the air is brisk, and there is a calming silence in the streets. As I leave my parked car, I walk towards a closed section of Lincoln Street in the neighborhood of Hillcrest, San Diego. I begin to hear the clinking of metal from tables being propped, smell the aroma of freshly brewed coffee, and see a rainbow of floral bouquets being placed in pales of water. Within minutes, a large white truck pulls up to a vacancy among the row of farm stands beginning to line the street. After helping the other workers to set up tables and unloading the produce, a day at the farmers market begins.

At the start of last summer, I was given a most wonderful opportunity to help J.R. Organics sell at San Diego’s local Hillcrest Farmers Market. Every Sunday I help customers with their purchases, and also answer their questions about ways to use the produce from the farm. I am so grateful to work with the Rodriguez family, and help those who come through the market find the right ingredients for their recipes.

The market opens at 9 o’clock in the morning and runs through 2 in the afternoon. People of all ages come to the market and are welcomed with seasonal produce, prepared foods, artisan crafts, music, and smiles. Most farms selling at the farmers market are organic or pesticide-free and bring their product from 45 miles away or less. Everything provided at the market is seasonal which means that it is being grown in a sustainable way that breathes with the surrounding environment. When visiting the market in the winter you find squash, pears, and cabbages. As spring approaches you will begin to see rhubarb, citrus, and cucumbers. The seasonal produce of local agriculture brought to the market assures customers that they are buying the freshest fruits and vegetables possible.

I look forward to every Sunday, because I get the chance to spend 5 hours with the most honest, hard-working, and whole-hearted people I have come across in my lifetime, thus far. Everyone at the farmers market shares the same interest in knowing where their food comes from. By visiting to the market, you know your farmer and by knowing your farmer, you know your food.

Entry filed under: All.

Recipe: Swiss Chard Pita Pockets Keeping the Beet

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

