Virtual Running!

February 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm 2 comments

I think it’s fair to say I had a very productive day today! No, I didn’t plan on having that rhyme either. I had school, and between classes I was finally able to clean my e-mail inbox. I had over 3,000 e-mails just sitting in my account!  Those things creep up on you, don’t they? The good thing is that I had read all of my important e-mails already so the rest was junk. It’s so nice to look at a clean inbox now. 🙂

Today I did a 5 mile run in the early afternoon…it was gorgeous outside! Days like today make me really thankful that I live in a small town. I’m able to enjoy nice runs without having to worry about heavy traffic and  too many stop lights that slow my run. I finished my workout with some moderate training at the gym. During my workout, I did:

  • 12 X 3 push-ups
  • 12 X 3 leg press
  • 2 X 2 minute planks
  • 20 X 3 bicycle crunches
  • 10 X 3 ‘captains chair‘ leg raises
  • 12 X 3 medicine ball twists

I have no idea what to call the concoction I made for dinner tonight!

I toasted my favorite bread, ‘Seedy Multigrain’,  from Bread & Cie. Bread & Cie is a local bakery here in San Diego, and I always make sure I pick up a loaf of bread from them at the farmers market. It is definitely seedy and I feel sooo good when I eat it because it tastes so hearty and amazing! I topped 2 slices of the toasted bread with a quarter of avocado each, freshly cracked black pepper, and this crazy chile adovado tofu stir-fry I put together. I was way too hungry after my run and workout to put a nice looking dinner together, so if it looks gross, trust when I say it wasn’t!
___

Last week I read this article in the New York Times, and it really hit home for me. Reading news like this is humbling, and makes me appreciate everything that I have. I am so thankful that I can come home and cook a meal for my family and myself.

The other day, I was speaking with my very good friend, Hannah, about the current relief efforts in Haiti. She recently visited Haiti in September and had the most amazing experience connecting with the beautiful people there. We both expressed our wishes of how we wanted to be there to help. I know it is difficult for a lot of people who wish to take part in rebuilding Haiti but don’t have the time or resources. Thankfully there are many ways you can do your part.

I’m very excited to tell you all that I just signed up for a really great ‘virtual run‘ to help Haiti! I am also opening the invitation for you all to join me, and thousands of others across the nation who are going to take part in this 4-mile run/walk. The actual race is going to take place in New York, but by registering as a ‘virtual runner’ you can run between February 19-24 from wherever you are and log your 4-miles online. The wonderful part of this race is that 100% of your registration fee is going to Haiti relief efforts. You can register at MapMyRun.com.

Will you be joining me in the run?

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Recipe: Carrot Spice Cookies Recipe: Swiss Chard Pita Pockets

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  February 7, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    That meal sounds and looks so good! I’m interested in the recipe for the avocado chili stir fry!

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  February 8, 2010 at 5:02 am

      Thank you! I’ll make sure I get a post up for the recipe sometime soon 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

