The BIG One-Four

January 30, 2010 at 11:23 am 3 comments

This day has been amazing so far!

I have built up my adrenaline and excitement all week-long for my planned 14 mile run, and it feels great being able to say:

I did it!

This run definitely made me aware of how much of a morning person I am. I like waking up before the sun! If I had it my way, I would have started my run the second I rolled out of bed, but it was still dark out. I waited until there was just enough sunlight.

Before leaving, I had a waffle sandwich for breakfast and a cup of joe. My waffle sandwich consisted of:

Unfortunately I don’t have a photo because it looked so delicious I didn’t want to wait to eat it. 🙂

Around 7AM I finally set out on my run. I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t chilly outside! I could see my breath the entire run, and it was difficult to move my fingers. I do have a pair of running gloves, but I didn’t want to have trouble accessing a protein stash I took with me today. Aside from bringing some water and coconut water in my 4 10 oz water bottles that are on my running belt, I also brought a chocolate CLIF Shot with me.

It had really thick gooey consistency and tasted like a brownie! I took my “shot” around mile 7.

I underestimated the route I plotted last night while planning this run. There were three steep hills I had to run through! I reached the 1st hill at around mile 4. My thought when seeing the hill before me was “WHOA that’s a BIG hill!” I was not intimidated by it one bit. I just looked at the ground before me and kept on pounding the pavement. I like to envision my legs as big waves crashing on sand when I’m running, so that really helped.

The plus side of going up hills while running, is that there is often a decline right after!

When I set out on my run, I wasn’t planning on going my fastest. My only goal was to make it back home in under 2 hours. Setting a broad goal for my first time running 14 miles made me feel more at ease, and there was less pressure to average at a specific pace. It was au natural!

Without trying, I made it home in under 2 hours, even with an extra mile!

I felt like dancing when I finished my run!

….That’s my “runner’s high boogie”.

I refueled with water and 1 serving of Nancy’s Organic Cottage Cheese, following with a nice shower.

I’m off to finish some reading for class, munch on lunch, and enjoy the rest of my Saturday! I hope you enjoy yours too 🙂

During my run, I kept telling myself to keep going even when facing a big hill. Even though it was hard, and I wanted to stop, I had determination not to let the hill get the best of me. What pushes you to overcome ‘hills’ you sometimes face during your day?

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Apple pie? Yes please! Recipe: Butternut Squash Ravioli!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carla  |  January 31, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    great job, Alex. you motivate me to work-out so my goal this week is to at least work out once. the thought of my family alone pushes me over the hills and of course my faith gets me through. hugs!

    Reply
  • 2. Sweet Sixteen « Eat Persimmons!  |  March 6, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    […] rain predicted, I laced up my sneakers fairly early this morning, though not as early as some runs! I didn’t want to be caught in the rain even though it isn’t really a factor for […]

    Reply
  • 3. Tomorrow! « Eat Persimmons!  |  June 5, 2010 at 6:43 am

    […] My first 14 miles […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

