Try This!: Coconut Water

January 28, 2010 at 10:43 am 3 comments

As you can tell, I live a very active lifestyle. I am sure most of you are aware of the many studies stating how important it is to replenish our electrolytes after a good sweat.

Q: What are electrolytes?

  • Electrolytes “are minerals that, when dissolved in water, break into small, electrically charged particles called ions. Present wherever there’s water in your body (think blood, cells and cell surroundings), electrolytes regulate your body’s fluids, helping to support a healthy blood pH balance, and creating the electrical impulses essential to all aspects of physical activity — from basic cell function to complex neuromuscular interactions needed for athletic performance.” (Source)

There are many sport drinks out there that take care of replenishing what body sweats out. One that I have drunk a lot lately is coconut water. I drink it so often I think I should cheer-lead for it!

Q: What is coconut water?

  • Coconut water is not to be confused with coconut milk! Coconut water derives from a young ‘green’ coconut. The water inside the coconut is fat-free and has a sweet, clean taste. It is clear like water.

Coconut water is an excellent alternative to sport drinks because it is bursting at the seams with electrolytes (more than a banana!), and is 100% natural. What you see when you pour in a glass comes directly from a coconut, not from a lab. Some people even refer to it as ‘living water’.

I give coconut water two thumbs up, it’s probably one of my favorite drinks to take with me when I go on a long run, besides water! If you ever want to try coconut water there are a lot of brands out there for you to try:

Coconut water is good in a smoothie, or just by itself.. Mmmmm

Entry filed under: Try This!.

Recipe: *Easy* Carrot Cake Oatmeal Recipe: Roasted Butternut Squash

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carla  |  January 28, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Have you tried mixing it with juice? Would Bella like it?

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  January 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      I’ve tried it mixed with veggie juice. And I think Bella would love it 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Kloé  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I had never heard of this, but I’ll definitely give it a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

