Apple pie? Yes please!

January 28, 2010 at 9:31 pm 5 comments

Today was my very first Thursday without school… ever! It felt nice even though I’m the type of person that loves being busy all the time.

Today was also my rest day for marathon training. My rest days always fall on Sundays and Thursdays. Taking a rest day is just as important as training itself. The body needs time to repair from all the work the muscles do!

After lunchtime today, I met up with two friends I made last semester in my ‘Ecology and Evolution’ class. We did a mini road trip to a nearby town that is known for its apple pie. Usually there is a line wrapping outside the door at Mom’s! I think it was a good thing that we visited the bakery mid-week to bypass an hour wait!

They offer a plethora of pie varieties, but I chose to have a simple slice of apple pie. It was sweetened with home-made cider instead of sugar….Let’s just say it was amazing!Since I make healthy choices at every meal, I don’t feel guilty when I choose to indulge in a treat. It’s all a part of being good to yourself.

After returning from our adventure, I made my way over to the gym to do a little strength training. Today I did:

  • 15 min – spin bike warm up
  • 12 x 3 bicep curls
  • 12 x 3 shoulder press
  • 12 x 3 tricep reverse curl
  • 12 x 3 on the rowing machine
  • 12 x 3 tricep dips
  • 10 x 3 pull ups (on a machine)
  • 12 x 3 leg press
  • 12 x 3 sit-ups

Such a good workout made me super ravenous by dinner time, so I made a soba noodle stir-fry with tempeh, red bell pepper, green onion, white onion, spinach, zucchini, and garlic. Soba noodles are a buckwheat noodle originating from Japan. They have a nutty flavor and are full of protein. Tempeh is a vegetarian protein made from fermented soybean that takes on a chewy texture and nutty flavor. I bought this tempeh from Whole Foods grocery store. It was pre-marinated in a ginger teriyaki sauce. Delish!

Also, any time I get to eat with chopsticks makes me a very happy girl!

I think I’m going to go enjoy some tea and call it a night. I want to be rested for my run tomorrow!

What is your favorite food to indulge in?

Entry filed under: All.

Recipe: Roasted Butternut Squash The BIG One-Four

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kloé  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:44 am

    30 pull-ups!?!?!? Wow! I have to say I’m impressed. I’m happy when I do 5 :-/ But I’ll work my way up there… And this apple pie looks amazing!

    – Kloé

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:29 am

      Muaha I forgot to mention my pull ups were on a gravitron machine where I only lift about 50% of my weight… I couldn’t do an actual one to save my life!

      Reply
  • 3. traveleatlove  |  January 30, 2010 at 7:01 am

    I really love healthy foods and my diet is mostly made up of them, but I love a good french fry! Not cheapie fast food, but more like a brasserie with moules frites.
    Your strength workout inspired me. I am running the Boston Marathon this spring and have totally neglected my upper body! Must change that today!

    Reply
  • 4. Alexandra  |  January 30, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Mmm! Potatoes are so good when they are prepared that way!

    Thanks 🙂 I get bored doing strength training so I try to mix it up to keep me going. Good luck with your training!

    Reply
  • 5. Camille  |  January 31, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I have a confession to make…
    I have lived in San Diego for 20 years and have never had Julian Pie. In fact, I don’t know if I’ve ever been to Julian before now that I think of it!

    This week, how about a run followed by some pie!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

