Recipe: *Easy* Carrot Cake Oatmeal

January 27, 2010 at 8:29 pm 2 comments

I enjoy juicing when I can. The other day I made carrot juice, and I felt horrible throwing away the pulp. I stored it in the fridge thinking of something I could use it in.

Carrots are insanely loaded with Vitamin A. Vitamin A is good for our bodies because it supports better vision, and helps our bodies as a preventative from cancer and cardiovascular disease (among other things).

Carrot cake is easily my favorite type of cake and breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so I knew the two would be a match made in delicious heaven!

*Easy* Carrot Cake Oatmeal

(Serves 3)

Ingredients:

>Oatmeal

  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 1/3 C carrot juice pulp ( or 1/3 C shredded carrot)
  • 3 Tb agave nectar
  • 4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1-2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/3 raisins and chopped walnuts

>Yogurt topping

  • 1/4 C Greek yogurt
  • 1 T agave nectar

Directions:

  1. Mix yogurt and agave and store in fridge while you prepare the oatmeal.
  2. Pour rolled oats in a medium-sized pot over medium heat on stove. To this add at least 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil.
  3. If the oats seem too sticky, add more water until you reach the desired consistency.
  4. To your oatmeal, add all remaining ingredients and combine well.
  5. Lower heat and let oatmeal get nice ‘n cozy with all the fixings (about 2 minutes)
  6. Serve warm, with a dollop of yogurt topping and maybe hit it with an extra dash of cinnamon if you want!

Enjoy 😀

Entry filed under: Recipe.

Just Another Tuesday Try This!: Coconut Water

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kloé  |  January 28, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Oh, I HAVE to try this. Oatmeal is my favorite breakfast, and carrot cake the best desert on earth… Oatmeal + Carrot Cake must = heaven!

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  January 28, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      Oh, please do try it! It might need a teensie bit more cooking time if the carrot is shredded (not pulp). It definitely was heaven! Got to have it again soon 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

