Just Another Tuesday

January 26, 2010 at 5:14 pm 3 comments

Yesterday was my first day of school, and this semester I’m only going to have class Mondays and Wednesdays.

I think it’s safe to say I had way to much free time today.. hopefully I can pick up a job in the near future!

For breakfast I had a persimmon, and oatmeal with some cinnamon, diced apple, and raisins…

I went on my run today. Funny thing is, I ran more than what I had to, by accident! I mapped out 6 miles to run, and after following my route I came home to find my Nike+ logged 7 miles! I keep reading how important it is to stick to your marathon training schedule and not run more than planned. In addition to running an extra mile, I felt very sluggish during my run. I think that might be because I didn’t drink enough water yesterday.

For lunch I fixed up my favorite salad using some beautiful organic spinach I got from the JR Organics. JR is the farm I help, on Sundays at the farmers market.

Have you ever seen spinach this big??

My salad had golden beets, sprouts, green onion, spinach, sugar snap peas, Israeli couscous, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds, and a basil-poppy seed dressing. This reminds salad reminds me of a friend of mine that I picnicked with earlier this month. I made this salad for her and she loved it!

__

Every blog I’ve read lately seems to have a picture of their dog uploaded, so I think it’s time I introduce you all to MAX!

I like to call him the drama queen of our house. Max is a dog that my parents and I took in after finding him stray and homeless in our neighborhood a few months ago. When I first found him at our doorstep, I put “missing dog” signs around our neighborhood but there were no claims.. so we kept him! I think he has become just as attached to us as we are to him.

Aside from Max, we also have a chihuahua and three outdoor cats. I don’t really get along with our chihuahua, Minnie. She is way too out of control for my standards! I think when it comes to dogs, I prefer the larger dogs compared to lap dogs because they are a lot more kick back and independent.

What kind of dog do you like?

Entry filed under: All.

Recipe: Pers-inna-yum Granola Recipe: *Easy* Carrot Cake Oatmeal

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kloé  |  January 27, 2010 at 4:00 am

    That is a beautiful dog! Since I live in an apartment, it wouldn’t be fair for a dog, but ultimately I want a Doberman… Once I get a nice house with the backyard 😉 For now, I have two cats Gustave and Adélaïde, whom I found respectively in the street and in a shelter. They are insane, but I love them to death!

    – Kloé

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  January 27, 2010 at 5:53 am

      Thank you 🙂 Dobermans are gorgeous dogs, and I agree about the smaller space a dog would have to live in. I love the names you have for your cats!

      Reply
  • 3. Recipe: Golden Beet Salad Symphony « Eat Persimmons!  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    […] Golden Beet Salad Symphony Jump to Comments In an earlier post, I mentioned eating one of my favorite salads for lunch. Salads are one of the easiest things to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

