Greener Pastures…

January 23, 2010 at 1:33 pm 1 comment

This morning when I woke up I worried that the rain would continue to come down but to my surprise, it stopped! The sun came out just in time for my planned 10 mile workout.

This morning I had a bowl of steel-cut oats for breakfast, with 1.5T peanut butter, a squirt of agave, and chopped banana:

,

I hung out with my parents for a little bit before heading out on my run, sipping some java juice. Before heading out on my run I ate a LARABAR.

Around 9:00AM I set out on my 10 miles, the furthest I’ve ever ran! It was such a beautiful run, I totally see myself taking the same path again next time. For the most part it was very flat, with some few minor inclines. I think it was around mile 4 or 5 that I started realizing it was going to take a lot more out of me mentally, but listening to some heart pumping tunes really helped!

I was able to see all the new green growth coming after the rain…

I finished my run in 1:18:04! I did it in a lot less time than I thought I would be able to, so that was rewarding enough. After running that long, I was so hungry that I hurried home to make a black bean soup recipe I found on Fatfree Vegan.

I didn’t have celery or collard greens so I improvised with swiss chard and the middle ‘rib’ part of the swiss chard. It was spicy and delicious! The poppy-thyme crackers are always good too.

___

After doing my 10 mile run, I realized that I am so thankful that I have healthy legs and lungs and wonderful support for my training! What are you grateful for today?

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Hope for Haiti It’s Complicated!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

