Training Day

January 22, 2010 at 5:27 pm 6 comments

Happy Friday!

I recently signed up to run the Rock ‘N Roll Marathon, on June 6th here in San Diego! I will be running with my good friend I met my first year of college. This will be our very first marathon. I don’t really know how to express my feelings about what I signed up for.. hmm!

I’ve decided to move my blog from Tumblr over to WordPress because I think I can reach a wider audience on here, and it is a lot more compatible for the blogging that I hope to do. I think I might transfer some of my blogs over to here later on just so I can have them all in one place.

I’m doing my training through my Nike+iPod. I love it so far. All I have to do is complete my run, and then come home and plug in my iPod. It stores all of my mileage and what-not, and presents it on a nice little chart for me to track my progress!

If you want to see what I’m talking about you can track my miles here: Nike Running

Today I have a scheduled 3 mile run. The weather is a bit gloomy outside but I am dressed and ready to go!

This morning I had a pseudo yogurt parfait for breakfast:

It consisted of Greek yogurt, 1 chopped persimmon, a drizzle of agave, a dash of cinnamon, and some of my home-made granola!

I love making my own granola! It is the easiest thing ever. I’ll get around to posting a recipe eventually…

So today before my 3 mile run, I’m meeting up with some friends and then heading out into the rain. If it’s pouring I think I will have no choice, than to run on the treadmill. Don’t want to get hurt during training!

Entry filed under: Marathon Training.

Hope for Haiti

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  January 23, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Wow Alex, I admire your dedication, out there running in this weather! Good luck with the training. I’ll keep checking in for recipe updates your food always looks so yummy. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. Persimmons  |  January 23, 2010 at 5:08 am

      Thank you Michelle! I will make sure to get some good recipes up here a.s.a.p. Hope to see you soon too πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 3. eatgoodstuff  |  January 23, 2010 at 2:25 am

    I’m so glad you started a blog! I have been wanting but the motivation isn’t quit there πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to do Rock and Roll with you!

    Reply
    • 4. Persimmons  |  January 23, 2010 at 5:08 am

      Can’t wait either!

      Reply
  • 5. victoria,the mom  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I LIKE your website, you are doing fantastic! keep up the great job you are doing.

    Reply
  • 6. Alexandra  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Thank you Victoria!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! My name is Alexandra.


This blog is a chronicle of living a healthy lifestyle through food and fitness! I'm a student, a gardener, an environmentalist, an athlete, and I love to cook and eat food that is locally grown. I love our planet so much, and I think it's important to treat it right so it can treat us right in return!

Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge

Sign the Petition!

Words I Live By:

Always savor the sweetness that every day has to offer. Respect the environment and respect yourself. Be grateful for all that you have, and be love.

Upcoming Races

* SD Rock 'N' Roll Marathon- 6/6/10

Enter your email address if you'd like to receive my new posts right when I post them!

Join 12 other followers

Archives

This Month…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

